Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I left out the cilantro because I personally don't care for it but this recipe isn't missing a thing without it. Mine took more like an hour and a half of simmering to really get the flavors infused; I even chopped the yam and pear in the food processor to speed the process. Served w/ pita bread as I didn't have time to bake naan, but will do so next time. Delicious and so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was a delicious, healthy and easy recipe. It takes awhile to simmer, but the prep work isn't intensive. The yams, pears and raisins add a nice sweetness-- but it's not overly sweet. It packs quite a punch, though, so if you don't like it spicy, cut down on the cayenne. I used a 32oz. container of vegetable broth from the store instead of the boullion, and forgot to include the cilantro, but it turned out lovely. The dish was great paired with naan bread. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was an excellent vegetarian curry! I a great blend of sweet/spicy/savory. Just watch out for the cayenne pepper, it was almost TOO spicy for my dad. Without any dairy or meat I was amazed at how good it tasted! Definitely going to be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is a fantastic curry. I didn't change a thing, and wouldn't want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Fabulous recipe. I cut the cayenne by half and that was plenty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Like it says, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Really yummy. I used dried black currants instead of raisins. I also halved the cayenne, but I don't think it needed to be halved. It wasn't too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Delicious!! I kept the cayenne amount as listed, and thought it was just the right amount of spiciness. I added some cashews to the recipe as well. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I substituted black currants for the raisins. My wife found it to be too hot with the spices added as directed. I liked the heat, though a bit less cayenne might have enabled some of the other interesting flavors to emerge more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was super tasty! Even my meat-eating family enjoyed it. I made coconut rice to go with it, which balanced the flavors very nicely. I used chicken broth instead of the veggie bullion and used 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon instead of the sticks. I also added some cubed potatoes and summer squash. The flavor was mild, but still very tasty. I think next time I will add more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States