Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very flavorful. Sweet, but not too sweet. The combination of spices and flavors was new and interesting. It was a little on the hot side which I like, but if you don't, you might want to use less ceyenne pepper. Relative to other middle eastern/indian dishes it was fairly easy to make. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey East

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I left out the cilantro because I personally don't care for it but this recipe isn't missing a thing without it. Mine took more like an hour and a half of simmering to really get the flavors infused; I even chopped the yam and pear in the food processor to speed the process. Served w/ pita bread as I didn't have time to bake naan, but will do so next time. Delicious and so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I only had one can of chickpeas so I added a cup of TVP which turned out fine. It wasn't like other curries I've had which were more like a thick sauce. This was more of just a bunch of spicy veggies. I'm nore sure how I liked the raisins in this, and if you don't like hot heat cut down on the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was super tasty! Even my meat-eating family enjoyed it. I made coconut rice to go with it, which balanced the flavors very nicely. I used chicken broth instead of the veggie bullion and used 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon instead of the sticks. I also added some cubed potatoes and summer squash. The flavor was mild, but still very tasty. I think next time I will add more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I substituted black currants for the raisins. My wife found it to be too hot with the spices added as directed. I liked the heat, though a bit less cayenne might have enabled some of the other interesting flavors to emerge more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Delicious!! I kept the cayenne amount as listed, and thought it was just the right amount of spiciness. I added some cashews to the recipe as well. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Really yummy. I used dried black currants instead of raisins. I also halved the cayenne, but I don't think it needed to be halved. It wasn't too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Like it says, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Fabulous recipe. I cut the cayenne by half and that was plenty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is a fantastic curry. I didn't change a thing, and wouldn't want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States