Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I didn't really like this, I prefer more of a gravy than this provided. I thought it was a little bland and the chickpeas had to be put back on the stove for a while since they were undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Made this for my family and they LOVED it. I serve it the way I would serve Indian pav bhaji, with toasted (or fried, if you're feeling decadent!) dinner or hot dog rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
So flavorful but just a tad too spicy with that much cayenne . . . and my family likes things spicy. Still, it's a 5-star recipe. And it feels good eating something so healthy that even the kids will gobble up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
mmm.. this was SO good! The cilantro at the end really helped round out the flavor, and the sweetness of the pears and raisins really went well with the spiciness of the dish. We ate it with onion nan and brown rice. definitely a recipe I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Made this last night for dinner and it was spectacular. The aroma it fills the house with is incredible. I tend to play with the recipes, but this is perfect as is. Tonight I added chicken breast to the dish, and it was fabulous served with naan. Don't be afraid of the ingredients, they meld perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
for my first attempt at indian food, i thought this was amazing. next time i might cut down on the ginger, it seemed a little strong to me. i did cut down a bit on the cayenne and the spiciness was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Seriously good! I cubed butternut squash and yukon gold potatoes instead of the yams. (only cause I used what I had) I just added minced garlic to the pot and minused the ginger altogether. Usually not a fan of cinnamon, but it works in this recipe. Also substituted golden raisins for the regular ones...(my husband eats them like candy.) Deelish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Like everyone else says, this recipe is time-consuming but delicious. It is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
delicious! i used ginger powder, and reduced the raisins to 1/3c. I will add a little more next time. I reduced the cayanne to 1/2stp, but it was still over powering. I like spice, but the sweet got covered up a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKYSIMONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I really liked the complexity of flavours that the cinnammon ginger and pear brought to the dish, however I found that 1 cup of raisins was too much, and the sweet "raisinee" taste started annoying me 1/2 way through a serving. I think next time I would cut it back to 1/2cup to 3/4 at the most
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States