Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Awesome! I used 1/2 tsp of cayenne, but otherwise followed the recipe. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was fine, but I was underwhelmed compared to all the glowing reviews. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was on the sweet side but I tempered it by putting it over brown rice. Nice blend of flavors. Would pair it with a meat that would have simple spices or it would be a poor match in competing tastes. I did use half of the cayenne after reading the reviews but I might add the other half in when reheating today. We love yams and this was a nice, new and interesting way to serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Loved the recipe! Although, I did not have bouillons with me. Instead, I put a teaspoon of Curry powder and a teaspoon of Mustard powder and it turned out pretty awesome! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I didn't have ginger nor cloves, substituted paprika for cayenne and sprinkled cinnamon instead of using cinnamon sticks. I also used a large sweet potato instead of a yam. With these changes, it is good but a little too sweet, even after adding salt, and I had cut down on the raisins. I used jarred chickpeas so only simmered for 30 minutes. Next time, I'll use a little less water, because it's a little watery, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, and try a regular potato to balance the sweetness. I also suggest serving over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I always double or triple this recipe and have made it many times. I played with the cayenne the first few times and no matter how little I put in, I just am not a fan of cayenne and so now I just leave it out. All the flavour without any heat which is the way I like it. This recipe stands up to freezing and reheating very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I took about a cup of the mixture and put it in the blender to thicken the dish. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Yum! Went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Really yummy! I threw in a cup or so of cooked white Northern beans that I had in the freezer, because I didn't have quite enough chick peas; & I omitted the coriander, because I didn't have any. Didn't matter at all -- this turned out absolutely scrumptious! What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
So wonderful I made it again right away! If you like spicy follow exactl. I didn't have fresh pears so I used canned ones and I though it worked perfectly. The second time I made it I was down to one can of chickpeas so I doubled the sweet potato. My husband preferred it, I thought it was really woderful both times, I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmbwdrmb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States