Delicious Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
very good...I added shredded cheddar cheese to the mixture. my kids loved it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I tried this last night and everybody loved it!I made it slightly different, instead of celery or brocoli i put 1/2 package of thinly sliced of french mushrooms. I added 1/3 can of evaporated milk, butter sauteed thinly sliced onion, 1/4 cup macaroni, paprica powder and 2 cups of cream of mushrooms. I omit celery, sour cream and used only 2 boneless chicken breast. Instead of salty crackers for the topping, I opted for BBQ flavoured chips and covered the whole pan for crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is very chicken-y and very soupy even after adding almost 2 cups of brown rice. After I added about 1 tbsp of thyme and a little bit of ground sage the base was much tastier. I made this with precooked chicken breast so I used canned chicken broth. I added 2-3 cups of chopped spinach and also substituted garlic salt for the celery salt and increased the onion powder. Next time I make this I will try leaving out one of the cans of condensed soup or using closer to 3-4 cups of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Really good, but I too added more rice, chopped green onions and green chilis for a lot more flavor. Easy to make and gets eaten rather quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Excellent! I used this recipe as a base, substituting cream of celery for the cream of chicken (because that's what I had), substituting egg noodles for the rice. I retained the celery from the broth and also added some peas for color. The broth added great flavor. The kids and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Good weeknight dinner - it flew off my table. Very kid friendly comfort food type casserole. I used rotisserie chicken which makes the recipe so much easier. The other changes I'd recommend it doubling the rice at the minimum (its too saucy otherwise). Double the garlic and mix in fresh onion instead of the onion powder to give the dish more texture. To add a colorful/nutritious element some steamed or frozed/defrosted broccoli florets might be nice too. The topping was great - I might do more of that next time too. We'll likely try this one more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
WOW! TASTY! I loved it! Delicious! Worth the cooking time! I used pearled rice. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was delicious. I omitted the celery because my husband hates celery, but I did use the celery salt. Next time I won't boil the chicken ahead of time. Maybe grill it or bake it a little first before putting in the casserole. I used boneless breasts. My kids didn't like it very much which was surprising, but we liked it very much. I also added slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Because it is just my husband and I, I used two boneless chicken breasts and micro waved it in water (barely covered) until just shreddable. The changes I made were to use two cups of Brown Jasmine rice, one cup of Swanson chicken broth instead of making my own broth, and caramelized one onion instead of using onion powder and celery salt. I prefer shredding the chicken instead of cutting it because I think the sauce sticks better. If you like spicy dishes, this is not the dish for you. You may want to add some jazz. This recipe is an excellent base for adding veggies or other ingredients. We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was delicious!! I'm pregnant so it is very hard for me to find things to fit those unbearable cravings!! I followed the direction except I used cream of mushroom instead and when mixing it i topped it with shredded cheese then crushed crackers then melted butter drizzled on top with a second layer of cheese and crackers. It was absolutely yummmmmmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States