Delicious Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Awesome Casserole. I made this for two different families last week and for ourselves. It got rave reviews, even one 7 year old who doesn't eat anything mixed together! I followed some other reviewers advice and changed it in the following ways: I used 4 boneless skinless breasts and boiled them in plain water. Instead of the homemade broth, I used 1-2 cup chicken broth. I used a Tbsp dried chopped onion instead of onion powder, one can of cream of chicken soup and one can of cream of broccoli. I also added about 2 cups of frozen broccoli florets. I omitted the celery and replaced it with 1/2 tsp celery seed. I varied one batch with jasmine rice instead of plain rice too (it turned out great and gave me an idea for a curry version of this recipe... I will post once I try and figure it out!). This is a great recipe and I will definately make it again, and again (good for potlucks too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is pretty good, and my family really enjoys it. I've made it several times because it gets rave reviews. However, I gave it four stars instead of five because I made a few changes. I only use two to three chicken breasts and don't make my own homemade broth. I also use two cups of rice (brown rice, which I cooked in store-bought chicken broth instead of adding broth to the mixture), one can of cream of chicken and one of cream of celery, 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, 1 tablespoon of dried minced onion instead of the onion powder, and I added about 1 1/2 to 2 cups of chopped broccoli. I also mixed a cup of sharp cheddar in with the rest of the ingredients and then topped the whole thing with another cup of cheddar and the crushed crackers. I skipped adding the butter to the crackers. It turned out pretty darn good, and my whole family enjoyed it. It was also pretty easy to make, and is fairly easy to adjust to suit your tastes so I'd definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Really good comfort food. I followed the recipe. I agree with other reviewers that it needs more rice. I was happy that I was able to freeze some of the chicken broth. Way better than canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I took the advice of: irenemua. "I use 2 boneless chicken breasts, 1 can or cream of chicken and 1 can or broccoli and cheese condensed soups, no celery salt, and add in a small bag of defrosted frozen broccoli florets. I also just sprinkle Ritz crackers on top without dredging in butter and sprinkle shredded Cheddar into the mixture before baking. Bravo!" And it was REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is absolutely delicious. Everyone I have ever served it to has loved it. I use 2 boneless chicken breasts, 1 can or cream of chicken and 1 can or broccoli and cheese condensed soups, no celery salt, and add in a small bag of defrosted frozen broccoli florets. I also just sprinkle ritz crackers on top without dredging in butter and sprinkle shredded cheddar into the mixture before baking. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Gomez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Absolutely loved it! I did add a second cup of cooked rice and a bit of cheddar cheese on top but other than that, didn't change a thing. Everyone had second helpings - that cracker topping was really good. Not a low fat recipe, but a nice treat every now and then -definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This recipe was just ok. I will try it again with some modification. I will skip making the stock and just cut up cooked chicken. I will use chicken broth in place of it and cut it down to 1/2c. or less (to runny with 1 c.). It needs some crunch so I will but some celery/onion/almonds to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I made this skipping the broth step only because I just don’t have that much time on a weeknight. I just used store bought broth and skinless boneless chicken breast. I cut up and fried the chicken in some olive oil before adding it. I also used one can cream of chicken and one can cream of broccoli cheese (that is what I had). I added two cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I thought it turned out okay. Then yesterday when I was ready to eat the left overs, I scraped of most of the crackers (so it wouldn’t get too mushy), put it in the microwave warmed it just enough to be able to stir it. I added ¾ a can of mushroom soup, another six oz of sour crm, and about ¼ cup of chicken broth, mixed it all together again and put new crackers on top. I put it back into a smaller casserole dish. And the left overs (about half the 9 X 13) turned out awesome. It was so better then the first day. I will definitely make this again. I plan on making it on the weekend with the homemade broth. But don’t pass this recipe just because of the time to make the homemade broth. It is worth it if you use the store bought broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weston, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This recipe is delicious! I had a couple of friends over after work so I made this the night before, up to the point where you sprinkle the crackers over it. This is definitely a comfort food dish. My guests loved it and all asked for the recipe. So quick, easy, and yummy - you can't go wrong! Next time I am going to try to make a healthier version, low-fat soups and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a great recipe! I do recommend using an extra cup of rice, as others have suggested. Also, just hand crush the ritz crackers and it makes a great topping. Can use a can of cream of celery and omit the celery in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States