Delicious Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Fabulous Recipe! Hardy, delicious, cozy, comfort food. Huge hit at my house....kids and husband scarfed it down and LOVED it. We had enough left over for a next day meal:)I left out the celery and celery salt (i didn't have it) I used Uncle Bens dirty rice in a box ( 2 boxes).....probably 2 cups more ritz crackers crushed because I love a thick layer of crunch....and it was awesome. Definitely making this again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I was let down by this recipe, especially after reading all of the positive reviews. It was bland. I did make some adjustments due to what I had on hand. I cooked the rice in chicken broth and I boiled the chicken in water seasoned with soy sauce, worcestershire, garlic and onion powder, and a little yellow sandwich mustard. The chicken itself turned out great, it had a nice flavor and a little zing. I used 1 can cream of chicken soup, 1 can cream of broccoli, 1 can cheese soup, 1 can of mixed veggies, 1 small can diced mushrooms, and used cream cheese with a little lemon juice mixed in instead of sour cream, because I didn't have any. I only had a few butter crackers, so I combined them with a few French's crispy fried onions and smashed them up all together and spread on top of the casserole, then topped it all off with some shredded cheddar cheese. Despite all of that, it was still very bland. If I do make this again, I will try 2 cans cream of chicken and 1 can golden mushroom, and I will also try flavoring the rice more, as that seemed to be the most bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Bland, but edible. The chicken stock is unecessary and makes the dish too runny. I'd leave it out, double the rice, add a veggie (peas, green beans, or broccoli), and maybe some herbs (basil, rosemary, or marjoram). This isn't bad, really, but it's just a bit "blah".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Delicious!! My whole family loved it (including our 3 year old) Made a couple of changes: used leftover chicken so I used store bought broth (I only had beef broth so that is what I used), used garlic salt and omitted the extra salt, and omitted the butter and shredded some jack cheese over the top of the crackers. Great recipe will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Perhaps my favorite recipe on this site. I usually add extra rice, maybe a half to three quarters cup just to make it stretch further. Freezes and reheats fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Great way to use up leftover rice and even leftover chicken (I often use some from a freshly stewed chicken, as well as some of the stock from it instead of boiling breasts all on their own)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
My four young boys just said it was the best dinner ever! I did not have celery so I used onions and I left out the crackers and sprinkled cheese on top instead. I do not have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Wonderful recipe loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoboken, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I left out the celery salt and celery and added 1 tsp paprika and added about 1/2 bag of frozen peas. Also I didn't do the crunchy topping but sprinkled cheddar cheese on top. It was so creamy and delicious! I am going to make it tonight the same way but with the cracker topping. This recipe is a favorite for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My family really liked this! I used fresh onion instead of onion powder and fresh parsley. I added both to the rice while cooking. Next time I'd use 2 1/2 cups of butter cracker crumbs and increase the butter by 1-2 Tbsp. because I really liked the crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vmjenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States