Delicious Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
My family loves this recipe. I used light or low sodium ingredients whenever possible and it tasted just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Soooo yummy and comforting! Easy to please everyone with this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I also skipped the broth-making step. I added a small bag of cooked frozen broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Good recipe family love it. I added parmesan cheese to the top and used low fat cream of chicken soup. I also used nonfat yogurt in lieu of sour cream. Used boneless skinless breasts cooked in water with carrots celery and some red pepper flake. Made a great stock. I added crushed crackers drizzled with a bit of olive oil in lieu of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibbyCrocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I found this recipe to be somewhat bland and runny. The second time I made it, I added 1/2 cup more rice and a 1/2 cup more homemade chicken stock, changed one can of cream of chicken soup to one can of cream of celery soup, decreased the salt by half but doubled the celery salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder to add flavor. To introduce vegetables into this casserole, add broccoli or peas. HELPFUL HINT: Use rotisserie chicken from your local market on busy nights to speed the process along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
First off let me say this is a great base casserole. That being said I gave it 4 stars as for our tastes I needed to do quite a bit of tweaking to it. First, I chopped 1/2 cup of onion and celery and cooked those in 2 Tbsp. butter until tender. I added these to the soup mixture. I interpreted the recipe to actually call for 1 cup uncooked rice, meaning I actually used 2 cups of cooked rice. I omitted the onion powder and added about 1 tsp. poultry seasoning which really helped the taste a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Tried this recipe for a Sunday dinner. Very tasty. Made it just as the recipe stated and added a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I just made this recipe yesterday for today's potluck. I cut up the chicken into chunks because I was serving it to a group and that works better than whole breasts. This is the third recipe very similar to this that I've tried. The first was way too bland and I've been stepping up the flavors on subsequent efforts. My changes: I used the 3 cups cooked rice that the original submitter said was really needed (later correction), added about 1/8 cup finely minced onion and 1/8 cup chopped red bell pepper, left out the onion powder, used one can celery and one can cream of chicken soup, and added about 2 ounces of green peas. My observations: The peas and bell pepper added to the attractiveness of the dish and I found it much tastier than previous versions. On the downside, I had half of it left and I think it was mostly because it still lacks pizzazz on a potluck table; also, it could have still had more flavor. I think it's worth sticking with, but future tries will include more green peas, slightly cooked carrots, about 1/2 cup finely chopped onion and more bell pepper. Also, my rice was a bit too sticky and I will try to find a rice that stays looser. All in all, I thought it was a good tasting dish and my leftovers won't go to waste, but I want to continue to refine it a bit. Many thanks to the person who submitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I agree with other reviewers. This is a bit runny. It is however a good base recipe. There are so many things you can do with it. Next time I will definitely modify it. I will also add veggies for a one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thunderwoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States