Delicious Black Bean Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
My whole family loves this and begs me to make it when we go camping. I added a few things. I added, 1 teaspoon cumin, ½ teaspoon chili powder (instead of the jalapeno), 2 10oz cans Rotel diced tomatoes lime and cilantro (make sure you drain them really well). I thought the recipe needed tomatoes and some more Mexican flavor. Its really good with whole grain tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Amazing meatless burritos! Even my 2 yr old gobbled them. The cream cheese just brought it all together. Will make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Good recipe. &EZ! Hubs likes as a dip w/chips too. Sons like this until the guacamole runs out. I might really love this on homemade bread rounds, but didn't take the time this go round. I'm not sure how much I'd like this w/canned beans. We use our homecooked black beans w/lots of cumin, chili powder, garlic, onion, oregano & etc. This will be in our 'extended rotation', meaning, if I need more black bean recipes (or a quick one), I'll use this one because it is so different than anything else we make & it is nice. But I prefer black beans w/ 1:banana salsa & tumeric rice (hot banana salsa from this site & just add a bit of turmeric & garlic to rice while it cooks); 2:Quinoa Black Bean Burgers (from this site); 3:a black bean casserole I made up on the quick one day(corn tortillas, black beans, salsa, & cheddar in layers); 4:a simple black bean soup made of half of my black beans & half salsa (red or green); 5:black beans & rice as a side to dishes such as Peachy Chicken Picante (from this site but with our modifications - usually prefer fish for that though). 6: sherried black bean soup - black beans pureed w/lots of onions & a touch of cooking sherry & broth as needed (so EZ since I can use a Vita-Mix or a hand blender). // I don't usually need more black bean recipes than that, but if I need a quick meal w/black beans, or I want a black bean dip, this will be handy. (probably '6' servings w/plenty of 8" tortillas would be enough for our family of 5 w/side salad)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These were good and simple. I didn't have the red bell pepper so I added a little salsa to the mix. We ate ours as tacos cause that was the only tortillas I had on hand. Made about 5 tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My family really enjoyed these. I love how quick and easy it is to make...time is limited during the week. I used lite cream cheese and diced chilis rather than jalapenos and heated the tortillas in the microwave for 30 seconds and they were wonderful. I made 4 burritos out of the suggested 2 servings, but based on the popularity I am going to have to double the recipe next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Nice and creamy. Followed recipe to a T. Could use Goat cheese instead of cream cheese for a healthier dish and red onion and chopped chile in adobo sauce to give a spicy smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
It would have been a 5 star if my husband learned how to read. He put in a whole Jalapeno and we all know how hot they are!!!!! :( tears and fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Omg this was so good I used a variety of seasonings and added rice, mozzarella cheese, and salsa as a toping to the burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
made these tonight for dinner. definitely a new favorite i will make again. followed allrecipe's user TINA's tips, and the burritos turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle Finbow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Before I rolled up the burritos all I tasted was cream cheese with some heat from the pepper.. Added more beans, more cilantro, and cumin and chilli powder as others suggested but it still was not good. Baking the tortillas first also made them crunchy and they broke when rolling up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States