Delicious Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
If your patty is falling apart, it's because you haven't mashed the beans enough! We made these twice, and the first time we only lightly mashed the beans and they were falling apart like crazy, even though they still tasted delicious. The second time we used our potato masher and 1 1/2 cans of black beans and they turned out perfect and held their shape wonderfully. It made about 11 medium burgers. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
THEY WERE FINE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I adjusted the receipe as follows to reduce the amount of liquid : 1/4 C chopped onion 1 Carrot grated 1/4 yellow squash grated 1 potato grated 2 chopped mushrooms 2 large bannana peppers chopped. 1/2 C oatmeal as a binding agent. No oil No salt (there is plenty of sodium in the beans and condiments) I fried 3 burgers and baked 3 at 425 while baking my sweet potato fries. I froze the burgers not eaten for use later. I had no problem with these burgers falling apart. The problem with the original receipe is too much moisture (potatoes have a lot of water), the amount of the additional ingredients prevents the beans from holding the burger together, and no binding agent other than the eggs. Substitute bread crumbs if you don't want to use oatmeal. This made 6 burgers instead of 8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I THOUGHT THIS WAS A GOOD IDEA FOR A BURGER BUT I COULDN'T GET THEM TO HOLD TOGETHER SO I COULD COOK THEM. THE TASTE WAS WONDERFUL. I WONDER IF PUTTING A LITTLE FLOUR IN THEM WOULD HELP HOLD THEM TOGETHER? OF COURSE THAT WOULD ADD TO THE CALORIES. I WILL TRY FREEZING THEM BUT I CAN'T SEE HOW THAT WILL HELP WHEN YOU COOK THEM. I COULDN'T EVEN MAKE A PATTY OUT OF THE MIXTURE THAT WOULD HOLD TOGETHER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
These are wonderful. I used portobello mushrooms instead of corn. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that they are sloppy to work with. Perhaps one egg instead of two. I froze them first as the other person suggested and it worked fine. My husband liked them as well. Even better they are only 2 points apiece at Weight Watchers when I calculated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Longville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is a great recipes for a vegetarian. Mine keep coming out too soft and almost falling apart. So I make them ahead of time and freeze them. For me they seem to re-heat very well and get nice and crisp. Tastes great! I added grated Ginger to mine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These were great!! Vegans do not eat eggs.... some vegetarians do.... the author correctly called them vegetarian. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanabanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clymer, New York, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Easy to make, great tasting burgers! I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States