Delicious Beef Tongue Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Put more tomatoes in the purée! Delicious, the meat was tender and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Amazing!!!! I altered the recipe a bit, by adding ground cumin and a beed bouillon cube.. ty made it last week cor the first time ever n its what we're having this evening :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I was so nervous about making something with a beef tongue but these were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I will cook this recipe this weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook50

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
My kids thought I was losin' my marbles when I said we were having this for dinner! They refused to eat! But when it made it to the table and they saw how much everybody else was diggin' it, they caved in. Now I can't make it often enough. This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Made with Buffalo tongue. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrontierCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Really love this recipie. I just don't tell the kids. We told them what it was after the first time I made it and they had eaten it, mind you they were saying yum the whole time. They said they would never eat it again. So, now I make it and don't tell them. I just say we are having beef tacos and they come running. It is super delicious. If you have never "worked" with tongue before, get over the boiling/peeling part. If you can rip the skin off a chicken and cut it up, you can deal with the tongue. It is the best meat, and this is the best recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Ha! I was just looking over the recipe to cook a couple of beef tongues I have in my fridge. The first two times I made this, one tongue was just barely enough for my 3 kids without me or my husband having any. I looked a this recipe today and thought "this cant be the recipe I used before"! Apparently, I didn't read over it correctly and cooked the tongue WITH the tomatoes and the peppers as well, instead of making salsa!! It was so good that I'm going to make that "mistake" again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made a few changes, but this was really good. We bought our first steer last year and I got a tongue... ok, what the heck to do with that. Get on Allrecipes and find a recipe. I used chicken stock that I made from some left over chicken, it was spicy, instead of water, and that meant I didn't need to add salt. I didn't have a bay leaf, so I used oregano. I had jalapeno's from my garden so I added 3 of them. My husband had tongue as a kid and wasn't too excited, but we both really enjoyed the recipe, it really was like roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan'ish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This tasted just like a real Mexican restaurant! I was skeptical of beef tongue, but a friend gave me one, so I tried this recipe. I added some dried oregano and a little bit of cumin and chili powder at the end. I cooked it in the crockpot for about 7 hours on high. The salsa is really good too (I substituted jalapenos for serranos and deseeded first).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States