Delicious Beef Tongue Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Here is my variation: I cook the tongue with garlic only in a regular pot for about 2 -3 hours. Once shredded I fry (no oil needed!) the tongue on a pan and add salt to taste. I use chopped red onion that I marinate in lime juice at least two hours before eating. Chopped cilantro is mandatory! My hot sauce is made out of jalapeño peppers and tomatoes about 1:1 for mild 2:1 for spicy. I cook them and then blend thoroughly adding a little olive oil. I always have flour tortillas and corn tortillas available. Avocado is a wonderful addition to this taco. I still have to find the first person who do not love this tacos. I have fed them to "people who do not eat tongue" for a pleasant surprise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Tried this for the first time but used oregano instead of bay leaves. ..cooked it over night and it came out soooo good everyone loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Put more tomatoes in the purée! Delicious, the meat was tender and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Amazing!!!! I altered the recipe a bit, by adding ground cumin and a beed bouillon cube.. ty made it last week cor the first time ever n its what we're having this evening :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I was so nervous about making something with a beef tongue but these were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I will cook this recipe this weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook50

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
My kids thought I was losin' my marbles when I said we were having this for dinner! They refused to eat! But when it made it to the table and they saw how much everybody else was diggin' it, they caved in. Now I can't make it often enough. This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Made with Buffalo tongue. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrontierCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Really love this recipie. I just don't tell the kids. We told them what it was after the first time I made it and they had eaten it, mind you they were saying yum the whole time. They said they would never eat it again. So, now I make it and don't tell them. I just say we are having beef tacos and they come running. It is super delicious. If you have never "worked" with tongue before, get over the boiling/peeling part. If you can rip the skin off a chicken and cut it up, you can deal with the tongue. It is the best meat, and this is the best recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy West

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Slow-Cooked Korean Beef Soft Tacos

Not your average taco. This beef taco filling is seasoned with Korean-inspired fl

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States