Delicious Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Delicious and hearty! I skipped the cream cheese and locatella cheese, as I had never heard of this one, subbing for it asiago and adding a little more parmesan. Didn't do the roasted red peppers, but won't be skipping them next time as they probably would have added a great dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
The most time consuming, expensive, and disastrous recipe I have ever made in 50 years of cooking. Way too much barley, recipe did not state whether to put the sauteed veggies into the casserole or not. I put them at the bottom of the casserole and the creamed cheese mixture on top. My husband rated this a 4 out of 10. He does not want any more. I have broken it into several pieces and placed in freezer bags. Will add to my homemade soups a bit at a time. The recipe ingredients looked so enticing. What a dissappointment. Used all the ingredients called for and followed the recipe. My adivce is not to bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Great recipe, but way too much prep for me. I will cut down the veggies next time and just add whatever I have on hand or some frozen mixed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This 'recipe' is more of a cooking challenge than I have recently seen. If I saw a cook book with the title "Meals with 28 Ingredients", I would not likely buy it. Chicken and Barley blends and soups are usually wonderful but I won't try this one. Thanks anyway for the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I didn't have mushrooms, zucchini and cream of chicke soup, or the roasted red pepper so I doubled the sour cream and added monterey jack cheese. I also added chopped sundried tomatoes packed in oil. I think this made the dish. It is a great way to get in a lot of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I just finished making and baking this and I am pretty disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Absolutely adore all the veggies in this dish! Planning to experiment with seasonings and cheeses other than Italian next time. Omitted barley and green beans. Didn't saute veggies, garlic and onion before baking, and was glad I didn't. Locatelli cheese is Romano cheese and can be purchased in plastic shaker form just like Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This had entirely too much garlic ... so much that it was "spicy hot". Without that over-powering garlic, it really had no flavor. Will NOT make this again. Hate that I wasted so much time and money on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Thank you for this recipe! I love the use of multi veggies. If 28 ingredients is too many for some, they may just want to avoid it altogether but there is no need for them to rain on our hard-work ethic parade. If they want a quickie meal, they should grab a frozen, sodium-laden meal and avoid this recipe. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iclaudius

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States