Delicious Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Good but with these changes. I made my own taco sauce from another website's recipe (no taco sauce on hand usually), eliminated the vegetable oil and used worchestershire sauce instead of soy sauce. (Completely out of soy sauce at the moment.) I'm really glad I tasted the sauce before adding the extra sugar called for. This is pretty sweet on it's own with just the ketchup in the taco sauce and molasses, so I didn't need to add the additional sugar. This is more like a sweet and spicy "mexican" barbeque sauce. Good recipe, but not really what I was looking for in a sauce. Little too sweet for me. NOTE: I also sauteed a little minced onion and garlic in butter before adding the ingredients. I did simmer this for a bit to reduce the sauce a bit to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I thought this was really good. Very easy to make. I didn't have taco sauce so I used 1 cup of ketchup and 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 cup. I also used regular dried mustard. My family prefers a sweeter bbq sauce rather than spicy so i left out the hot sauce. It was great. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Good Stuff. My husband really liked the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
It's a good recipe. I didn't have taco sauce so I used ketchup. Because ketchup is already sweet I skipped the white sugar and only added half the molasses. Even that was a little too much and I ended up adding a little more vinegar to balance it back out again. The only other change I made was to add a couple of drops of liquid smoke to it. Really good as is though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Made this last night. WOW AWESOME!! I added (as suggested) Garlic Powder as well as Onion Powder and a couple shakes of Sarachi (hot sauce). YUMMY!! Put it on Chicken thighs (reserved 1/4 for "dipping later") Wonderful sauce, and I will definitely make this one again. I'm sure it would be fabulous on Shrimp, Steak or pork as well. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I used regular tomato sauce with taco seasoning. Honey instead of molasses a bit of cayenne pepper and garlic powder. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bergman Beach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I didn't have taco sauce so I just used tomato sauce. I also substituted honey for molasses and left the mustard out and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Great! I was out of Molasses so I used maple syrup and it still turned out great. The perfect combo of sweet and spicy. Next time I'll take the other reviewers advice and add some onion and minced garlic though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very Tasty! Just the right amount of sweet & spice. I cut The recipe in half, & added 1 TBLS each of instant chopped onion, and bottled minced garlic. I also simmered it on the stove for 10-15 min. to combine flavors, & to thicken it, as mentioned by a previous reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I substituted dijon mustard for the dried and added an extra dash of our favorite hot sauce. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States