Delicious Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I'm going to give this four starts instead of five only because it is so close to a recipe I already use, but mine never turns out dry (as many reviewers have said this does). The secret? You need to MARINATE in the liquid for at least an hour, but this can still be a last-minute recipe if you do what I do. When I come home from the store after having purchased my meat, I immediately divide portions into zip lock bags, add the seasonings (and yes, ANY oil based salad dressing works, as well as any seasonings that you feel will compliment the flavor you are going for!!), and then stick in the freezer until I'm ready to cook the meal at which time I simply defrost. This is the fool proof way to bake (or grill) chicken breasts. I promise you will ALWAYS get rave reviews if this is followed. My husband's personal favorite is an oil based greek dressing with a sprig or two of fresh rosemary in the freezer bag. When grilled, it is fragrant, crispy, juicy and tender! Use your imagination to come up with your own signature dish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M-B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This recipe was very good. The chicken came out very moist. I did modify the recipe a bit to suit my tasts though. I added minced garlic instead of garlic powder, honey, and a little white wine. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carpediem816

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I am giving this recipe five stars because my family LOVED this chicken. To get my kids to love something is truly a wonderous event!!!!! The key to this recipe is the SEASON TO TASTE line. If you don't add seasoning to it you will possibly find it bland. I put garlic in the olive oil, then seasoned with garlic powder, salt, pepper and a little dried thyme. I only had 1/2 cup of Worcestershire and it could have used the full amount to my taste. The chicken was moist but cooked faster than the recipe called for. I thought it was pretty good but the kids really provided the rating for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
We loved this recipe! I used skinless, boneless chicken breasts instead and substituted low-sodium soy sauce for the Worcestershire sauce and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I was kind of scared at first to make this. Sounded a little boring, but! I had all of the ingredients. I used frech, crushed garlic instead of powder. And then I sprinkled the worchestershire sauce all over it. I'm not sure I actually did 3/4 cup. And before I put it in the oven, I added about 3/4 to 1 c. water because I wanted extra drippings. It was great. and my husband LOVED it. It was a little spicier than I thought it would be (a good thing for us, but I know people who would have thought it was too much). When it was done cooking I just poured all those drippings into a little sauce pan w/ flour and water and it made a WONDERFUL gravy. And since it was just out of the over, it only took about 2 minutes to make. My 4 year old sat w/ the leftover gravy and ate every bit of it. took the idea of another and served it over instant rice. It was a really quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was so easy and so good. Very moist. I used chili oil instead of plain vegetable oil which added some heat. I was generous with the worcesteshire sauce after reading the recipe could turn out bland. I cut up a whole chicken, covered the chicken for the first 45 minutes, then turned the pieces and cooked them uncovered for another 10 minutes, then covered them again for 10 minutes when I took them out of the oven. I made a sauce of the pan drippings with cornstarch and half&half and poured that over wild rice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Very good recipe for a quick dinner idea. Watch the added salt, though, because the worcestershire sauce is salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
My husband and I loved this chicken!! I have made it a few times and have made some substitutions which have also been great. Instead of Worchester sauce I have used soy sauce...and instead of olive oil used some spicy oil...it was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
This is pretty good. Nothing to rave about, but great for those nights that you just don't know what to cook. Very easy to prepare, just not extremely flavorful. I was actually worried all I'd taste was the Worcestershire sauce, as I've never used it as just the flavoring, only a flavor enhancer. I would make this again on those nights when I need something simple. Also, was thinking of trying this with Italian dressing instead of the Worcestershire. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
this is delicious and tangy! I found that you really didn't need as much worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States