Delicious Baked Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Try rolling your chick breasts in egg (beaten) and then flour. Place in the refrigerator for at least an hour to allow the sealing to take place - otherwise your butter oozes out and the seal helps keep it in. After you pull them out of the refrig - roll in buttermilk and I used plain corn flakes. I agree with the other reviewer - parsely (even dried) in your butter stuffing mixture makes this more traditional, beautiful and palatable. In addition, I used minced fresh garlic instead of powdered - just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This is a good recipe, I grew up eating chicken kiev as my family is acually from kiev...I haven't had it in a while because of the high calorie content, but that has now changed, i did make a few changes, first I added fresh parsley to the butter mixture, when it's ready and you pierce the chicken it's much more pallate pleasing that way. Then, I also use a little flour after i roll the chicken, when combining this with eggs instead of the buttermilk, it helps to seal the butter inside. I also double rolled the chicken in bread crumbs. Overall this is a fantastic way to eat chicken kiev, I made it for my eastern european grandma who was a professional chef for 40 years, and she knew the difference right away, but even so found it to be very good. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This is mine but I had a few tips. If you add the rest of the cereal mixture with a little buttermilk/butter they are great to add to each bite of chicken. i call them "crunchies". i kinda guesstimated at the amounts of spices, you can figure out how much of what is best for you. i looove garlic and the sweetness of the cereal with it tastes sooo good. Since the honey sweetened flakes seem to be gone try frosted flakes!! It is very good! also I've made this with chicken tenders, melted the butter mixture and injected them instead of rolling around the frozen butter. faster and easier and just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This was really good, but I made a few minor changes. Instead of making my own butter, I used pre-made garlic butter. I won't do this again as the garlic flavour was just too strong. Instead of using butter milk, I used an egg wash as this seals the chicken so all the butter doesn't leak out. Lastly, I did not use honey corn flakes, I just used regular cornflake crumbs which I seasoned. This was a really good/quick dish, we'll definitely eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This is now one of my husbands favorite meals. It's easy and quick to make. I my own variation of it with omitting the garlic powder from the butter mixture and adding some lemon juice. I also use regular bread crumbs or crushed stuffing mix (when I use stuffing, I don't add the other spices) instead of corn flakes. Lastly, I dip the chicken in either ranch dressing or eggs (whatever I have around) instead of using buttermilk. It's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This recipe was sooo good. I was totally skeptical of the seasonings with the sweet cereal, but they complimented each other so well. I tried another chicken recipe from this site that I thought I would like but didn't at all, and I almost didn't try this because of it, but it was soo good. I used some Sazon instead of paprika (didn't have any) and it was just great. From one Jess to another, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I love chicken kiev in restaurants but have never been able to duplicate it at home, this recipe comes close. The only thing I would change is instead of using sweetened cereal for the coating, I would use plain corn flakes. Next time I may also just try italian-seasoned bread crumbs and leave out all the other spices that are supposed to go into the coating. The contrast between the sweetness of the coating and the chicken was just to odd for my family's taste. Other than that, the chicken tasted great and I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This was a great dish. I switched the garlic powder with some fresh chopped garlic and I used the regular corn flakes instead of the sweetened ones. I will definately fix this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Excellent flavor. My husband even liked it. Couldn't find honey frosted cereal, so used plain old frosted flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
My Husband and i rate this a 5 star, it was very good and somewhat easy to make. Due to the fact that i did not have all the ingredients on hand, I did make a few minor changes, i used plain corn flake cereal, and dried parsley (not fresh). It turned out great even with the changes. thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States