Delicious Baked Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
The taste isn't bad, but not spectacular either. The taste alone would warrant 4 stars. However, I'm giving it 3 because this meal is so darn hard to prepare. Be prepared for one heck of a mess when you make this. Is it worth it? On a regular basis, no, but it is a nice change of pace. It's not a bad idea to double the sauce/stuffing recipe. It seemed on the light side to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDUNNAVANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
it was good and the kids liked it but I thought it was a little too sweet. I'll try just bread crumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Very good! The butter made the chicken very moist, and I liked the crispiness of the breading. I thought the sweetened cereal added an interesting twist. I used chicken tenders for increased surface area and dried parsley because that was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Very tasty and flavorful! If I could give this 4.5 stars, I would. Preparation was a little time-consuming, but well worth it. I cooked for 36 minutes and chicken was a little dry.. 30 would've been perfect. I may save this one for special occasions. Thanks Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
My Husband and i rate this a 5 star, it was very good and somewhat easy to make. Due to the fact that i did not have all the ingredients on hand, I did make a few minor changes, i used plain corn flake cereal, and dried parsley (not fresh). It turned out great even with the changes. thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This was great! I used Kellogs corn flake crumbs instead of the actual cereal and regular milk instead of buttermilk since that was all I had. It was still wonderful. My whole family loved this recipe. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
this is great, but i used crushed crispix cereal instead of flakes. thanks marilynrg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Felton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Wife and 2 year old son loved this. Very delicious, like the sweet contrast with the spices. Used Frosted Flakes for the cereal. I would use 1/2 cup buttermilk instead of 1/4 cup -- I had to add more to bowl in the middle of making it and hands were a mess. Thanks for a good keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
I baked for 40 minutes, perhaps 30 would have been better. The meat was dry. Granted, I did use plain cornflakes, but I thought the dish lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I love chicken kiev in restaurants but have never been able to duplicate it at home, this recipe comes close. The only thing I would change is instead of using sweetened cereal for the coating, I would use plain corn flakes. Next time I may also just try italian-seasoned bread crumbs and leave out all the other spices that are supposed to go into the coating. The contrast between the sweetness of the coating and the chicken was just to odd for my family's taste. Other than that, the chicken tasted great and I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States