Delicious Baked Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Very Good, but i had trouble keeping the butter in. I also decided to use regular cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Great recipe but I lowered the fat and calories by using muenster cheese instead of butter and frying the chicken w/ veg. spray instead! It was AMAZING even better than butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Not bad, but a lot of work for a weeknight meal. It requires a lot of diligence with the toothpicks to keep the butter in, and still you can't prevent some of it leaking out. I took the advice of other reviewers and used egg and milk to help with the leakage and it was fairly well contained, but could not prevent it all. This didn't really taste like Chicken Kiev to us, but had a nice flavor anyway. I did not use cornflake crumbs, but rather used Garlic and Herb bread crumbs. It is a nice recipe, but I probably won't be making it again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I did this exactly like the recipe said, and the butter didn't "leak out." However, my husband and I were put off by the sweet flavor from the corn flakes. Next time, I would use regular corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
It was good, but that's about all I can say. My butter oozed out all over the pan. This may be my fault, but I've made this recipe twice taking extra special care with the tuck and fold and tooth picking, but it oozed again! I even tried the flour and milk trick someone else suggested. Does anyone have any really good tips on how to keep this from happening????? PS. I also used regular cornflakes as honey flavored seemed a bit funky for me. Very good if the butter would stay put!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. I made it on a Wednesday and from start to finish dinner was on the table in about 1 hour. A little tip for pounding out chicken is to lay out a big piece of plastic wrap (maybe two for more coverage) and then place the chicken breast on that and lay anonther piece on top of the chicken. You can use a frying pan to "wack" the chicken a couple of times and it will thin out then repeat with the same plastic for all other pieces. When you have finished pounding out the chicken you just toss out the plastic wrap and there is no mess. Makes for a quick and easy clean up. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was good. I baked it with good results. The butter kept the chicken moist. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robert Trost
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Great dish. Used fresh garlic as well as some garlic seasoning. I want to try this again with broccoli instead of parsley for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Trost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was delicious but more involved than something for a weeknight meal. My butcher suggested already tenderized chicken breasts and said to use a rolling pin to just roll them flatter. Saved time and mess! I used ready-made cornflake crumbs and dipped the breasts in egg before dipping them in the buttermilk. This seemed to help keep the butter inside better. Everyone loved this and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Thanks for a lovely recipe Jessica. The family all loved this chicken dish. Just make sure you like the taste of honey otherwise it may taste a little too sweet. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downunder de

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Innes, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States