Delicious Baked Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This is a good recipe. I gave it four stars for the breading. I think next time, and there will be one, I'll go with regular corn flakes as others have. The sweetness was just too much for me. Also, for all the garlic powder in there, I couldn't taste it at all. I think the sweetness of the cereal is taking away from the other flavors. A cast-iron skillet makes flattening a breeze. I had that done in no time. I think I spent more time crushing the cereal. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
We like this pretty well. I didn't have corn flakes, so I used crushed corn chips. Very crispy! I used chopped garlic in my butter mixture. I also salted & peppered the chicken breasts after pounding them, and also added a little dried basil. Next, I secured with toothpicks, dunked in egg beaters, and then coated in crushed corn chips. I melted more butter, added in more chopped garlic, and used that to grease my baking dish. Turned out very well - even my picky kids ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Totally delicious! I used ordinary cornflakes rather than honey coated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I have made it a few times already and have now changed it up- I use fresh garlic (usually atleast 6 or 7 cloves) and I've been adding a TBSP or 2 of lemon/black pepper marinade(the regular ol'kind in a bottle for marinading chicken) to the butter mixture to give it a bit more of that lemony flavor that I've had in other kiev recipes. thanks for sharing this one jessica! the picky kids request it atleast once a week, I'm a big fan of how its not a fried recipe full of too many calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
A very good recipe - I used packaged corn flake crumbs (much easier) and an egg wash instead of the buttermilk. I had a minor amount of butter leakage during baking - but the chicken swas still tasty. I used fresh garlic in both the butter mixture and the corn flake coating (4 cloves all together). I'll make again, trying for an even tighter seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Sara S.
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used egg/flour instead of buttermilk...and regular corn flakes. Also, I made a slit in each of the chicken breasts and inserted the butter slabs in those. It kept the chicken moist and prevented leakage. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe was good but not fantastic. I find pounding chicken to be a pain and this recipe wasn't worth it. I did like how it was baked and not fried. I changed a few things. I used plain corn flakes and not sweetened. I also followed others' suggestions and dipped in seasoned flour, egg, then the corn flakes. I wanted a tighter seal. This had very good flavor but it's getting 4 stars because it was a pain :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDROYAI

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was good; I will surely make this again. My only confusion came when the recipe called for honey sweetened corn flakes. I found regular plain corn flakes & sugar corn flakes (like Frosted Flakes) so I wasn't sure which to get. I opted for plain Corn Flakes & it was good...but still I'm not sure I got the "right" one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very good recipe, I substituted the cereal with bread crumbs, which worked just as well. I know many people have complained about the butter, but I didn't have any trouble with it. If the meat is pounded enough and then rolled tight enough only a nominal amount of butter leaks. Good recipe for a cold night and relatively easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very good my husband really enjoyed and he's not a chicken fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States