Delicious Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I definitely had to add just a tiny bit of mayo:) But really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was ok. I think I prefer the taste of mayo in my egg salad just because I'm used to it. Also, I made this the night before and didn't think about the avocado browning. IF I make this again, I will use immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great Recipe!! I pimped it out a bit, and used romaine lettuce instead of bread......no no bread bad bread:{...it was cool and refreshing and no clean up!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I really liked this. Simple, different, and good. I don't like celery, so I subbed red bell pepper instead. Also reduced mustard to 1 tsp. and salt and pepper to taste (less than called for). One tsp. of garlic powder was a bit much; will reduce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Tried this recipe for my daughter-in-law's Vintage Baby Shower and it was a hit! The cranberry/walnut chicken salad sandwich I also served was made with mayo and I wanted another sandwich without it. I was not disappointed. The only change I made was using red pepper in place of the celery, not for taste but for color and I used yellow mustard. Yummy, yummy, yummy and very tasty indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have never had egg salad......until now!! WOW! I am not a fan of mayo. I use very little or modify to not use it. I saw this in the magazine and had to try it. I had a sandwich after I made it and one at 9am this morning!! I used 5 eggs and a whole - large avocado, lots of cracked black pepper. Mustard to taste and just to bind, the avocado does great binding a flavor on its own. I also had some yellow onion and green pepper - I added to taste, not too much. I did not add the garlic powder I might later. This is a for sure go to for me from now on!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Nice twist on the usual egg salad. I used half the salt and mustard. I would add some cumin and chopped jalapeno next time for a little kick. This works fine if you just hard boil eggs like you normally would. Eat it all in one sitting though ... the avocado turns a nasty moss green color the next day, even in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I loved it but I did add a little chopped Vidalia Onion and cayenne pepper for kick! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I've converted: I have no desire to ever make egg salad with mayo again. This was surprisingly delicious! I omitted the celery and used just a dash of garlic powder and seasoned salt. I may or may not have eaten the whole batch for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
When I read this recipe, at first I couldn't believe I'd never thought of using avocado in place of mayo! MIND BLOWN. Then I made it and put it on some organic multigrain bread and OH MY GAWD it was the best sandwich I've had in a looooong time. It took no time to make and the texture is amazing with the soft egg and avocado and crunchy celery. Next time, I might play around with adding some herbs for more nutrients and some onions for some zing. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States