Delicious Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was ok. I think I prefer the taste of mayo in my egg salad just because I'm used to it. Also, I made this the night before and didn't think about the avocado browning. IF I make this again, I will use immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great Recipe!! I pimped it out a bit, and used romaine lettuce instead of bread......no no bread bad bread:{...it was cool and refreshing and no clean up!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I really liked this. Simple, different, and good. I don't like celery, so I subbed red bell pepper instead. Also reduced mustard to 1 tsp. and salt and pepper to taste (less than called for). One tsp. of garlic powder was a bit much; will reduce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Tried this recipe for my daughter-in-law's Vintage Baby Shower and it was a hit! The cranberry/walnut chicken salad sandwich I also served was made with mayo and I wanted another sandwich without it. I was not disappointed. The only change I made was using red pepper in place of the celery, not for taste but for color and I used yellow mustard. Yummy, yummy, yummy and very tasty indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have never had egg salad......until now!! WOW! I am not a fan of mayo. I use very little or modify to not use it. I saw this in the magazine and had to try it. I had a sandwich after I made it and one at 9am this morning!! I used 5 eggs and a whole - large avocado, lots of cracked black pepper. Mustard to taste and just to bind, the avocado does great binding a flavor on its own. I also had some yellow onion and green pepper - I added to taste, not too much. I did not add the garlic powder I might later. This is a for sure go to for me from now on!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Nice twist on the usual egg salad. I used half the salt and mustard. I would add some cumin and chopped jalapeno next time for a little kick. This works fine if you just hard boil eggs like you normally would. Eat it all in one sitting though ... the avocado turns a nasty moss green color the next day, even in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I loved it but I did add a little chopped Vidalia Onion and cayenne pepper for kick! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I've converted: I have no desire to ever make egg salad with mayo again. This was surprisingly delicious! I omitted the celery and used just a dash of garlic powder and seasoned salt. I may or may not have eaten the whole batch for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
When I read this recipe, at first I couldn't believe I'd never thought of using avocado in place of mayo! MIND BLOWN. Then I made it and put it on some organic multigrain bread and OH MY GAWD it was the best sandwich I've had in a looooong time. It took no time to make and the texture is amazing with the soft egg and avocado and crunchy celery. Next time, I might play around with adding some herbs for more nutrients and some onions for some zing. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is a good recipe for a "lighter" avocado egg salad since it omits the mayo. I just put in a couple shakes of salt and a few twists of the pepper grinder, as well and a little onion powder and paprika in addition to the garlic powder. I also used 5 eggs and a whole avocado to make it go a little further. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States