Delicious Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I'm only giving this a 2-star rating as the recipe asks for wayyyy to much of the spices (especially salt), so much so, that it becomes nearly unpalatable. At 1500mg of sodium per serving this will send someone’s blood pressure into overdrive. I will make this again though, because I think it has promise, but I will cut the salt down to 1/4 tsp, the mustard to 1 tbsp, the pepper to 1/2 tsp and the garlic powder to 1/2 a tsp as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Quick and easy! I like the fact that mayonnaise is not needed for this sandwich filling! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was OK. I liked the idea of using avocado and mustard in place of mayo, but honestly I missed the mayo! The eggs and avocado together were good, but I didn't care for the mustard flavor (even reduced to 1 TBSP, as suggested by another reviewer). Might try it with a TBSP of mayo next time...still less than I would normally use. 1/4 tsp. of salt, 1/8 tsp. of pepper and 1/8 tsp. of garlic powder were quite enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreechrismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I really like egg salad. Love that no mayo is needed and the avocado made a very nice touch. Loved it and will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Personally, I liked this recipe very much, just one suggestion, if you're going to share it with other people, leave the salt and pepper out and let them add their own. I just did the spices to taste. I also didn't finely chop the celery, i like it in bigger chunks, and added onions, and used a whole avocado instead of just half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This was good, but not too much flavor. I will make a couple changes the next time I make this. I'm going to try chopped onion instead of the chopped celery. Also going to add some lime juice. I might even add a chopped jalapeno or two for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wheaties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santee, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Does anyone know how well the extra keeps in the fridge?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I've converted: I have no desire to ever make egg salad with mayo again. This was surprisingly delicious! I omitted the celery and used just a dash of garlic powder and seasoned salt. I may or may not have eaten the whole batch for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Tried your recipe last night for a quick dinner. My roommates thought it was very good and very tasty. It was gone before I knew it, so next time I will make sure to double the portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raya21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I didn't use celery because I don't like my egg salad to be that crunchy. This was delicious! I had never thought of using avocado in place of mayo. I'm glad I found this, I'm trying to cut mayo out of mine and my family's diet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States