Delicious Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Quick and easy! I like the fact that mayonnaise is not needed for this sandwich filling! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I really like egg salad. Love that no mayo is needed and the avocado made a very nice touch. Loved it and will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I'm only giving this a 2-star rating as the recipe asks for wayyyy to much of the spices (especially salt), so much so, that it becomes nearly unpalatable. At 1500mg of sodium per serving this will send someone’s blood pressure into overdrive. I will make this again though, because I think it has promise, but I will cut the salt down to 1/4 tsp, the mustard to 1 tbsp, the pepper to 1/2 tsp and the garlic powder to 1/2 a tsp as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
wayyy too much mustard. Cut the mustard maybe in half and this would be fantastic! (cut the salt in half too) - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was OK. I liked the idea of using avocado and mustard in place of mayo, but honestly I missed the mayo! The eggs and avocado together were good, but I didn't care for the mustard flavor (even reduced to 1 TBSP, as suggested by another reviewer). Might try it with a TBSP of mayo next time...still less than I would normally use. 1/4 tsp. of salt, 1/8 tsp. of pepper and 1/8 tsp. of garlic powder were quite enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreechrismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I did add a dollop of mayo and we did a whole avocado but it was great! And my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is an awesome concept. I tweaked it a little. Mine was 6 eggs, 1 whole avocado, 1 tablespoon mustard and then the pepper and garlic powder. It mixed well and was super great tasting! I would recommend this to anyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This recipe is delicious and healthy. The fat in the avocado is the "good cholesterol", which certainly beats the "bad cholesterol" in mayonnaise. Since I changed to olive oil almost exclusively, and I eat at least 4 avocados a week, my cholesterol medication has been a thing of the past. They really mean it when the commercial says "Eat more avocados". My husband and I like our foods salted "differently", so I make this spread with no salt and we each salt our sandwiches the way we prefer. Also, I think the amount of mustard is perfect, but we both really LIKE mustard. I can imagine those who don't would think the amount of mustard should be adjusted down. But, I feel that without any changes, this egg salad ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I LOVED this! I used 5 eggs, 1 whole avocado and substituted red bell pepper for the celery. I added the seasonings to taste so I can't say how much I used. Absolutely delicious. Perfect for a sandwich lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious! Like other reviewers, I used 6 eggs & a whole avocado. I used grainy mustard, a pinch of sea salt, and finely diced red pepper. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States