Delicious Apple Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Really quick & easy to make. Much better than the premade stuff sold in the stores! I modified the recipe by using 3 large apples. Didn't bother to peel or shred them--just chopped and cored them. (Came from my apple tree, so I didn't have to worry about peeling. Extra fiber!) Adjusted the amount of water and sugar to taste, but used the full amount of cinnamon called for. After the apples had cooked, I pureed the mixture in the food processor. **Used this applesauce in "Baked Oatmeal," which is also on this site. Used applesauce instead of the oil called for.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This is really easy to make. I used macintosh apples, and cut them into chunks instead of shredding them. I scaled the recipe to make 8 servings, and used only 1 tsp. of cinnamon, instead of a tablespoon of cinnamon. I agree with the other reviewers that this recipe calls for way to much cinnamon. I served this with vanilla ice-cream, and the tart apples with the sweet ice-cream was heaven! Kind of like apple pie without the crust. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Wonderful. Followed suggestions of previous reviews. I omitted the sugar and added a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Soooooo quick and easy! I had always thought applesauce was harder to make fo some reason, but this recipe makes me never want to buy applesauce again! Only thing I did different was to eliminate the sugar; next time I think I will cut down the water too, as mine was a tad too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This is a wonderful basic recipe: I tripled the batch, didn't use as much cinnamon as called for, and probably only a tablespoon total of brown sugar. I think the amount of sugar needed depends on the sweetness of the apples, and preference, of course. I also chopped the apples instead of grating them...I liked the texture like that. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I've always used regular white sugar when making applesauce in the past.....so this was a pleasant surprise in using the brown sugar. I, too, would decrease the amount of cinnamon in the future ---- but overall this was a very easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohoes, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Kind of a pain in the butt to shred the apples, and wayyyyy too much cinnamon. I will never make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This has got to be the best tasting apple sauce ever!!! My kids tell me that it tastes just like an apple pie only without the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I added an extra apple and cut the sugar by half. When it was soft I used my immersion blender to smooth out the lumps. I stirred this through warm vanilla custard which the kids thought was great. All gone in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
Wonderful recipe. Easy and my entire family loved the taste. Just like Grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States