Delicious Apple Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I just finished making this as written and it is really good! It is my 1st time making applesauce and I am doing it to use in a Banana Bread recipe on this site! I used Granny Smith as that is what I had on hand. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
It was a huge hit with my family. It tasted just like apple crisp. The only thing I did diffrent was I cut the apples up in chunks and mashed them up when fully cooked. It make a bit of a chunky apple sauce which is what my family likes. I will be making it again real soon. It's gotta be the best recipe I have tried by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I have made applesauce many times, but this is a different approach. Usually I boil the apples first, then pulverize them; this recipe basically reverses that sequence. Instead of shredding the apples, which sounded painful, I used my food processor. Raw apples (with peels) and a wee bit of water were food-processored until they looked like applesauce, (but tasted grainy); then I simmered it for about 45 minutes to soften the texture. I probably could have simmered it for a shorter time if I had removed the peels - but my mom always told me to eat my apple peels. One caution, if you do opt to leave the peels on: Make very, very sure you remove all the little stickers. Picking tiny bits of sticker out of boiling applesauce is not very fun (take my word for it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this with local York apples. I didn't find it to be overly sweet at all. I also increased the cinnamon (personal preference). This apple sauce was excellent, everyone in the house loved it. I also used it in a BBQ sauce recipe...it was perfect. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommaof03inWV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Easy tip - don't bother shredding the apples! Just peel and chunk them as you would for a pie and when they start to soften use the potato masher!! Depending on your apples and how juicy they are, you may need to add more or less water. I used the full amount of cinnamon and sugar and the applesauce turned out absolutely delicious. Try it on top of bran flakes in the morning (still add your milk) for a wonderful-tasting healthy fibre-rich breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I've never made applesauce before, but I've eaten plenty of it. This was delicious and perfect--exactly what I was looking for. What a great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
super easy and great recipe. Will use it again. I changed the recipe a bit so it was not as sweet. It is very easy to use this recipe and then change it so fit your taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dits5764

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is the first time I've made apple sauce. Instead of shredding the apples, I used my food processor, which made it less messy, and way easier than shredding. I also used brown sugar splenda rather than brown sugar. The taste is very good! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is the best apple sauce I've ever tasted. Will make it again and again, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
VERY delish. I reduced the amount of cinnamon and sugar, and drained some of the water off before putting in the blender for a few quick blends. It's really up to your own personal taste how much cinnamon and sugar you use...I had chopped up the apples instead of shredding them, leaving the applesauce chunky - PERFECT for my 16 month old learning how to use utensils! Very good on vanilla ice cream or all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyanne83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States