Delicious Apple Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
i dint like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This apple sauce is AWESOME! I just eyeballed the water as many reviewers thought 1/4 cup was too much and added brown sugar to taste. Sooo good. I topped some stuffing filled pork spedinis with this apple sauce and it made the dish! So good warm or cold. I plan to make another batch tonight and serve it over vanilla ice cream with carmel sauce-Mmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Rasch Behnke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
First time making apple sauce and will not be the last thanks to this recipe. Easy & Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I would double or triple the recipe to make it worth the effort, didn't yield a lot, but it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I just finished making this as written and it is really good! It is my 1st time making applesauce and I am doing it to use in a Banana Bread recipe on this site! I used Granny Smith as that is what I had on hand. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
It was a huge hit with my family. It tasted just like apple crisp. The only thing I did diffrent was I cut the apples up in chunks and mashed them up when fully cooked. It make a bit of a chunky apple sauce which is what my family likes. I will be making it again real soon. It's gotta be the best recipe I have tried by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I have made applesauce many times, but this is a different approach. Usually I boil the apples first, then pulverize them; this recipe basically reverses that sequence. Instead of shredding the apples, which sounded painful, I used my food processor. Raw apples (with peels) and a wee bit of water were food-processored until they looked like applesauce, (but tasted grainy); then I simmered it for about 45 minutes to soften the texture. I probably could have simmered it for a shorter time if I had removed the peels - but my mom always told me to eat my apple peels. One caution, if you do opt to leave the peels on: Make very, very sure you remove all the little stickers. Picking tiny bits of sticker out of boiling applesauce is not very fun (take my word for it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this with local York apples. I didn't find it to be overly sweet at all. I also increased the cinnamon (personal preference). This apple sauce was excellent, everyone in the house loved it. I also used it in a BBQ sauce recipe...it was perfect. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommaof03inWV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Easy tip - don't bother shredding the apples! Just peel and chunk them as you would for a pie and when they start to soften use the potato masher!! Depending on your apples and how juicy they are, you may need to add more or less water. I used the full amount of cinnamon and sugar and the applesauce turned out absolutely delicious. Try it on top of bran flakes in the morning (still add your milk) for a wonderful-tasting healthy fibre-rich breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I've never made applesauce before, but I've eaten plenty of it. This was delicious and perfect--exactly what I was looking for. What a great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States