Delicious Apple Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I just made the best apple sauce ever... although I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I only put a 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1 tsp.brown sugar.Also,I just chunked the apples,simmered them in a covered pot for 1/2 hour over medium heat, then I removed the cover and cooked another 15 minutes on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I had no idea applesauce was so easy! I used a dash of nutmeg and only 1 tbsp brown sugar. Also, instead of shredding the apples, I just cored/sliced them and simmered them with water and spices, covered, until soft. Then I used a potato masher to break them up into smallish chunks, about 1 cubic cm. The texture was great, the taste was great. BEWARE: this recipe makes only enough for one big helping or two smallish helpings. People *will* want this when they smell it cooking, so make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayfarer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I used rome beauty for this recipe. For some reason, even though I used very low fire, the water kept evaporating. I ended up have to add totally a cup of water til it was actually done. I halved the sugar because I love the sweet and sour taste of the apples themselves. Cinnamon and apples = match made in heaven. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Perfect ratio of apples to liquid. Resulted in just the right consistency of sauce. Used four granny smith, and 1/2 cup of apple juice instead of water. Also, tossed in a handful of cranberries and only 1 tblsp of brown sugar. Followed the advice of others and chopping the apples rather than shredding them. Mashed them up with a potato masher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Love love love! I love cinnamon so the amount was fantastic! i love to have it with whipped cream or on ham. YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Much better than store bought. Would make a great apple pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Great apple sauce! I diced the apples instead of grating them and mine turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This did not work for me at all. The water kept evaporating in the pan, so I had to keep adding more. After 30 minutes, apples were still not soft. Probably won't try again, but thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States