Delicious Apple Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very straight forward - quick and easy. I used my magic bullet - just chopped and put pieces into it with the water. I halved the sugar after reading other reviews and it was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I tripled the recipe,, but still cut back the cinnamon to half a tsp, and didn't add any sugar. We used our orchard apples which are plenty sweet and juicy. Also, no need to peel the apples, why through away all those nutrients and fiber? Shredding seemed like too much work,, so I cut into small chunks, then used an immersion blender in the pot after they softened up. Tasted yummy,,, wayyyyy better than any store bought sauce,, and wayyy easier to make than I ever thought that apple sauce would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, however, the submitter of this recipe should have said what -size- of apples need to be used. I used 12 small apples from my aunts tree and multiplied the recipe accordingly... and ended up with apple cinnamon syrup. Now if I can only figure out what to do with the syrup... .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Homer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Good I cut the cinnamon in half and it was still a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I didn't have any brown sugar so I used white - still pretty good but I'm anxious to try it with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I just made the best apple sauce ever... although I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I only put a 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1 tsp.brown sugar.Also,I just chunked the apples,simmered them in a covered pot for 1/2 hour over medium heat, then I removed the cover and cooked another 15 minutes on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I had no idea applesauce was so easy! I used a dash of nutmeg and only 1 tbsp brown sugar. Also, instead of shredding the apples, I just cored/sliced them and simmered them with water and spices, covered, until soft. Then I used a potato masher to break them up into smallish chunks, about 1 cubic cm. The texture was great, the taste was great. BEWARE: this recipe makes only enough for one big helping or two smallish helpings. People *will* want this when they smell it cooking, so make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayfarer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I used rome beauty for this recipe. For some reason, even though I used very low fire, the water kept evaporating. I ended up have to add totally a cup of water til it was actually done. I halved the sugar because I love the sweet and sour taste of the apples themselves. Cinnamon and apples = match made in heaven. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Bouma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Perfect ratio of apples to liquid. Resulted in just the right consistency of sauce. Used four granny smith, and 1/2 cup of apple juice instead of water. Also, tossed in a handful of cranberries and only 1 tblsp of brown sugar. Followed the advice of others and chopping the apples rather than shredding them. Mashed them up with a potato masher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Love love love! I love cinnamon so the amount was fantastic! i love to have it with whipped cream or on ham. YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States