Delicious Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I've been making this recipe since I first learned when I was a kid. I always use brown sugar and I wisk in the cinnamon and a little nutmeg in with the brown sugar. This is really awesome with cinnamon ice cream or fresh whipped cream. GREAT white trash party offering. EDITED REVIEW: I made this the other day using reduced fat crescent roll, half the amount of butter, half the amount of brown sugar Splenda in place of the sugar and Diet Canada Dry. Even using the lower fat ingredients, this was still freaking awesome. I ate one portion, the boys literally ate the rest in 15 minutes. My husband even remarked that it's better than it usually is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! These are so easy to make and even better to eat! Will definitely make these again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wow - What a fabulous recipe! I mean a dessert just doesn't get any easier or any tastier than this! Definitely not for those counting calories...although I'm sure it could be lightened up a bit if you wanted to! I used half white sugar and half brown sugar, added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. I also had to sub Sprite for the Mountain Dew as I didn't have any on hand. These baked up beautifully and made the house smell wonderful. They were perfect with vanilla ice cream and a dollup of whipped cream and the side -YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My husband has been making these for years...another recipe on this site called Country Apple Dumplings. Only difference is this one calls for vanilla extract, which he added any ways. Regardless, a family favourite. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Delicious and so easy! I use 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cup sugar and diet Dew. Still wonderful. Serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Easy and good. Also I substituted carbonated water (berry flavor) for the soda, and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
We, especially grandkids loved this! 2nd time we cut sugar in half and used sprite. Just as good and better for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Every year we go to a nearby apple orchard and pick apples with our kids. We got a whole bushel of apples this year and after we got them home, we realized it was a lot more than it looked like at the orchard! I made these yesterday and they are soooo good! I have shared the recipe with my husband's Aunt and I am making some more for my husband AND my in-laws today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
After our annual trip to the apple orchard today I made this recipe with the help of my mother, mother-in-law and husband. We all agreed that it deserves more than 5-stars for it taste and simplicity. Thank you for posting, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Scrumptious! indeed quick and easy. superb with ice cream or whipped cream; outstanding by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States