Delicious Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Read the reviews and you can tell this recipe needs serious tweaking. I really wanted to make an apple crisp where the base was more like apple pie filling and not just sliced apples. So I used this as a basis. I only had three Granny Smith apples so I cut the recipe in one third but used a whole tablespoon of cornstarch and 3/4 c of water. Next time I will use apple juice. I didn't add the cinnamon until the apples were done cooking and also added about 1/2 t of nutmeg (fresh ground). Looking at the measurements for one third of the topping, I decided it didn't look like enough so I used one half the recipe and even then it wasn't enough. Overall it is a good base recipe and the end result was very good. But made as is, it wouldn't have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
It didn't fast anything like I was expecting - way to much liquid. Don't use this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
In my opinion, this apple crisp tasted like warm apples with mushy oatmeal on top of it. I think that the apple mixture softened the oatmeal, as there was no "crisp" texture. In a nut shell, choose another receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Good flavor. Crispy oat mixture on top. But it was too runny. Needs either less water or more cornstarch. That's all I would change; otherwise, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Should've read the reviews - too runny, a total waste of 9 apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
The recipe needs a little more flavor. I use pumpkin pie spices for that delicious complex flavor of nutmeg, cinnamon & ginger. I also drizzle dark grade B Maple Syrup all across the pan before I bake. This carmelizes the oats and apples making a crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I made this today and it was great....not too sweet! I added some chopped walnuts to the topping....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
too runny and no crisp, cooked additional 30 minutes to no avail, maybe more corn starch?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I thought this had too much cinnamon and water, but not enough corn starch. Next batch, I used 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, dusted the apples with flour instead of cornstarch, and added a tablespoon of flour to the oatmeal....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This had really nice flavour but the recipe was off. I found it needed much more corn starch and after adding four times the amount, it still came out of the oven very wattery. i would make this again if i was able to find a way to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States