Delicious Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Read the reviews and you can tell this recipe needs serious tweaking. I really wanted to make an apple crisp where the base was more like apple pie filling and not just sliced apples. So I used this as a basis. I only had three Granny Smith apples so I cut the recipe in one third but used a whole tablespoon of cornstarch and 3/4 c of water. Next time I will use apple juice. I didn't add the cinnamon until the apples were done cooking and also added about 1/2 t of nutmeg (fresh ground). Looking at the measurements for one third of the topping, I decided it didn't look like enough so I used one half the recipe and even then it wasn't enough. Overall it is a good base recipe and the end result was very good. But made as is, it wouldn't have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
It didn't fast anything like I was expecting - way to much liquid. Don't use this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
In my opinion, this apple crisp tasted like warm apples with mushy oatmeal on top of it. I think that the apple mixture softened the oatmeal, as there was no "crisp" texture. In a nut shell, choose another receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Good flavor. Crispy oat mixture on top. But it was too runny. Needs either less water or more cornstarch. That's all I would change; otherwise, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Should've read the reviews - too runny, a total waste of 9 apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
The recipe needs a little more flavor. I use pumpkin pie spices for that delicious complex flavor of nutmeg, cinnamon & ginger. I also drizzle dark grade B Maple Syrup all across the pan before I bake. This carmelizes the oats and apples making a crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I made this today and it was great....not too sweet! I added some chopped walnuts to the topping....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
too runny and no crisp, cooked additional 30 minutes to no avail, maybe more corn starch?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I thought this had too much cinnamon and water, but not enough corn starch. Next batch, I used 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, dusted the apples with flour instead of cornstarch, and added a tablespoon of flour to the oatmeal....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This had really nice flavour but the recipe was off. I found it needed much more corn starch and after adding four times the amount, it still came out of the oven very wattery. i would make this again if i was able to find a way to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States