Delicious Angel Hair in Tomato, Tuna and Olive Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
We do not particularly like canned tuna, so I used grilled, marinated tuna instead. Only other changes are that I used fresh basil and added 1 tsp. red pepper flakes. The flavor is unique and very good. I can't quite bring myself to rate the recipe 5 star, but it is a strong 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Excellent! I also served with salad garlic toast and received wonderful comments from my husband. We will difinately be having this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This was really good and, honestly, better than I expected. Used 3 cloves garlic, since we're garlic lovers. Substituted 15oz can of tomato sauce as we did not have tomato puree. Worked fine, though probably would be better with crushed/pureed tomatos. Considered doubling the tuna, but think now it would be too strong. This is just enough tuna that you can taste it, but it doesn't overwhelm. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
March 7, 2006 Review: I couldn't decide between 3 1/2 or 4 stars for a rating, so I think a low 4 stars would be adaquate. It was good, nothing sensational, but something different. It's a really mild (bland) flavor. I did sub the whole peeled tomatoes for diced tomatoes, so maybe that would have made the difference between good and great. 5/4/06 UPDATE: I have changed my rating of this recipe based on the fact that I had so much extra sauce, I had to freeze it. It's still in my freezer, I know we'll never eat it, and I hate looking at it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
im not too crazy about this dish...i didnt really care for the flavor and i must have added too many olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra George

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Wow, this sauce was very bland, but has potential. I made a few changes for improvement to perhaps 3.5 - 4 stars. The changes are in lieu of the original ingredients. Use: 1.) 12 oz. Solid White Albacore; 2.) 14.5 oz can Hunt's Diced Tomatoes, undrained; 3.) Use 8 0z. chopped black olives; 4.) use 3 cloves pressed garlic cloves, 1 tsp dried basil and 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes; 5.) Add 3 TBS capers (these really make a difference!); and 6.) Top with grated Romano cheese for extra flavor. Allow flavors to blend in refrigerator before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
My husband and I thought this was very good! It was also easy to make. My husband does'nt like black olives, but said he still liked the dish! Thanks for the recipe. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Even though I made a few minor changes, I gave this five stars because it's a great basic recipe - it's simple, easy, and a big hit with my family. And I always adjust recipes to suit my own taste, anyway. I added rosemary, capers and sea salt. I had no tomato puree, so I used crushed and whole tomatoes, broken up (with a pinch of sugar). It's important to use the solid white, not chunk light tuna. I used 12 oz of solid white and didn't add it until cooking was almost done, so that it would not disintegrate. I was very liberal with the olive oil and garnished with lots of fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I liked this recipe a lot. I did use Italian styled diced tomatoes and omitted the tomato puree. I have made this several times. its a good fast dinner and I have all the ingredients in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I substituted stewed tomatoes for the canned tomatoes and canned tomato sauce for the tomato puree. I also added a dash of tobasco and the recipe was fantastic. My boyfriend and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States