Delicious Ahi Fish Burgers with Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
For me, this was a middle of the road recipe -- tasty enough to repeat, but only with necessary adjustments. Pros: includes veggies (with room for lots more), pretty healthy, unique way to cook ahi. Cons: overall taste is bland (if you use recipe as-is). I think a necessary ingredient to add here is dijon mustard, to enhance the flavor. A little Worcestershire sauce will help as well. Overall -- C+. Give it a try and determine the changes you'll want to make for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was a hit for my family. I modified my second recipe a bit based on what others here have suggested and enjoyed it even more. I added: fresh garlic (2 cloves, saute with carrots and onions then add to burger mixture) Worcestershire sauce (2 Tbsp) Lime Juice (1 Tbsp) Then I made a sauce to serve on the side that really compliments the burger (adjust to taste): Mayonnaise (4 heaping Tbsp) Worcestershire sauce (1 1/2 Tbsp) Lime Juice (1 Tbsp) fresh pepper & salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Good recipe. The store didn't have fresh chives so I used about 3/4 cup green onions,bulbs and stems and no other onion.I also added 1/2 red bell pepper minced,and used seasoned crumbs and garlic powder. Came out very good. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I loved this recipe. I made sure to buy some nice pieces of tuna and did not sub packaged albacore (although you mince it anyway, not all parts of a tuna-or kinds of tuna- taste the same, just like any other animal). I think I may disagree with the reviews that call this bland. It is a burger after all and should be served with accompaniments like any other burger. Taking that into consideration it is very flavorful. I minced everything by hand and it held together perfectly. Not sure that it wouldn't seem mushy to me if done in a processor. Every time I make patties I either refrigerate or freeze them for a little while to help the flavors meld and help them stick together. I love another reviewers suggestion of mixing a mayo/chinese chili sauce spread:) Definately going to try that! One more thing....these are four very large servings, you could probably serve 6 easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I love Ahi Burgers! When I make them I try not to put too much mayonnaise, eggs, and/or bread crumbs in the mixture if I can help it. Instead I add chinese fishcake as a binder, grated carrot, minced mustard green cabbage, chopped green onions, garlic clove, fresh grated ginger, a little sesame oil, soy sauce, salt and black pepper. I cook the mustard cabbage down and cool it before adding it to the Ahi mixture. I put some of the Ahi into a food processor and grind the Ahi up.(Sometimes, I do add a 1/2 block of extra firm tofu to the Ahi mixture). I mix everything together. When I make them into patties I put them into the refrigerator to chill for at least 30 minutes. I heat a large skillet with a little sesame oil and heat up the pan to medium high heat. I put the Ahi patties into a skillet, fry them about 3 minutes on each side, until golden brown. I serve them with rice and soup. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
My husband and I loved this Recipe. I also added an shredded zuchini to get some more vegies in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I love this recipe. I use the panko crumbs and add zucchini along with the carrot. I mix up a little chinese chili sauce with some mayo and use as a condiment. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Excellent, used one egg and added more seasoning to the mixture. Will be making this again for sure. FYI, Sam's club has great Ahi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was good and easy. I would recommend not putting all ingredients in the food processor at once, as some have done. Doing them separately allows for different textures. This made 8 patties for us and they cooked in half the time suggested in the recipe. My daughter liked the burgers plain, my husband liked honey mustard on his and I liked tarter sauce. So, serve with your favorite condiment as the recipe suggests. This is healthy and good...we will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
i got a really good deal on some ahi so i decided to try this recipe; i'm glad i did! i just plopped everything into the food processor (rough chopped carrots and onions). it was so easy! i followed the recipe pretty much to the "t" except didn't use measuring cups (who does?) and substituted green onions for the chives because i had them. i didn't have a problem w/them falling apart like the other member...maybe it's because i didn't try to shape them w/my hands? i instead used a large ice cream scoop the plopped directly into frying pan and patted them down w/pancake flipper; they fried up real fast. i served them on onion hamburger buns w/mayo, lettuce and avocado and my family LOVED them! they almost taste like the fish patties at the local fish market - i think the difference is the fish market adds MSG...we don't use it. i think the next time just to experiment i might try adding oyster sauce as an additional seasoning. thank you very much for sharing this super easy and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

See how to make quick-and-easy salmon burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States