Deliciosa Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is the recipe I use for my Salsa Verde!! Only thing I do different roast everything & I also add a few garlic heads, too!! The best salsa!! IThe sugar helps with the acidity. Freezes well, too~~My 15 yr old son will eat this straight out of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a very good recipe. Its easy to follow and easy to make. Now, I do roast all my peppers and a glove of garlic on top of the suggested recipe. Remember when you are roasting: to take the pepper out of the oven then choke it in a Ziplock baggie. Do that for a min or two, then you can literally scrape out any seeds and the charred outside. You should scrape the outside because that burnt area is very bitter. I combine this recipe with a personal recipe for salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlliMasaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Very easy and of so good! This is great on nachos or enchiladas or just with some good tortilla chips. Thanks - this recipe is a keeper. I made this for Faceless Frenzy July 2012 - so glad I did, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is the first time I've made salsa Verdi . This recipe is wonderful and easy! Never buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This salsa is tasty but a little too spicy for me even though I didn't use the Serrano pepper and used 2 jalapenos from some that I had canned. I also like my salsa a little thicker. Next time I will probably only use one pepper and maybe only the juice from a smaller lime or just half of a large one so it's not so liquidity. It's worth the try if you're looking for a tasty Verde salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Pretty good but recommend roasting everything and then puree with a diced avocado, the avocado is the key. Killer on everything but especially good on pork carnitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RustyDuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheshire, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seaside, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
First time working with tomatillos. I understood the directions to husk them but skipped the peeling as it seemed futile. Otherwise followed directions and ingredient list. Husband loved it and wants to hang on to this recipe. Throwing everything into the food processor made it so easy. Recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I also roast everything except for the cilantro, along with 5-6 cloves of garlic. I've never added the sugar, and haven't noticed it missing. Tastes great on anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Loved it and its healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cologgi McCulloch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Pine Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
We can't get enough of this! I grew two big tomatillo plants in my garden this year, but I plan on growing 4 next year just to have plenty of tomatillos to make this salsa. This is very easy to make in a food processor. I used a little more cilantro and a little more onion. A half-teaspoon of salt is good too, but not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States