Delicata Creamy Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
I love this recipe! I've also made it for several potlucks and everyone can't believe how good this is. It takes a bit of time to cook the squash and scrap them since they are so small, but oh is it worth the effort. I've modified the ratio so that it fits better with what I can find in the store. 4 squash to 4 cups broth to 2 cups(1 pint) cream. This gives a little more squash so the soup is a little thicker. I also add several health pinches of nutmeg which really tops it off well. Oh and since this recipe has so few ingredients, buy high quality. I've found Pacific Foods Organic vegetable broth (1 Quart) is SO much better than bullion cubes. Thank you Sue!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
this is a wonderful fall soup! i used buttercup squash, because that is what i had on hand. roasting the squash gives the soup a nutty, full bodied flavor. i had to roast the squash for about a full hour because the buttercup are larger than delacata, of course. i adjusted the ratio of broth and cream slightly based on my amount of squash. 2 buttercup squash, 2 cups broth, and 1 cup cream. it turned out perfect. pureeing the soup at the end makes it so frothy and light tasting. it was a huge hit with our dinner guests! add a couple little sprigs of fresh chives on top when serving for an elegant presentation. will definitely make this again. it was so simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
wow, really really nice soup. ended up using butternut squash and it was delicious. for those who have not yet invested in a home kitchen 'wand,' you should! just put it in the pot of soup and go - it's smooth as silk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
WOW! I think that pretty much somes it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochamix

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Great recipe! The roasting really adds a wonderful nutty-sweet flavor. Great with butternut squash also, just have to roast a bit longer. Obviously better with home-made stock if you happen to be boiling some chicken up or have veggies on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe. Even my picky husband really enjoyed it. I served it with a roasted veggie sandwich and it was sort of like an elegant picnic meal. We will definately make this agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
We loved this -- but we didn't have quite the right ingredients -- I made it with a combination of butternut squash and delicata squash and I cooked the squash in the microwave. Could it be even better with roasted squash? We'll try it that way too. I also tried adding nutmeg -- one of the other reviewers mentioned that. A healthy pinch makes for a subtly stronger flavor for the soup. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This recipe was fantastic. I served it at a small dinner party, and one guest turned over her cup to get the last few drops out onto her spoon. Another guest who "doesn't like squash" ate all of it before he knew what it was. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This recipe was fabulous. I just became aware of the delicata squash. What wondeful sweet flavor is has. I have sent this to all my friends I liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very yummy soup... kind of a sweet flavor to it. Next time, I will reduce the amount of cream, and maybe try it without even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States