Deli-Style Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Great pasta salad! Pasta salads are so easy and no matter what you add to them as long as the veggies are fresh, you use a good quality dressing, and it's chilled - it'll be delicious. So add what you like. This recipe is a great base. I used tri-colored pasta, a whole bunch of cherry tomatoes that I cut in half, used one red onion instead of two, red pepper instead of green and added some black olives along with the cucumber. For the dressing I used Good Seasons Italian dressing mix (so it was kinda homemade, and kinda not). I also threw in some shredded Parmesan cheese and instead of using Salad Supreme Seasoning I used "Tasty Salad Seasoning" from this site - it's fabulous. This recipe is a definite keeper and much cheaper than getting it from the deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I used Smart Taste pasta, only a quarter of a red onion that I diced (I can't imagine that my family would have been crazy about two whole red onions in one salad), and I used red bell pepper instead of green (we don't care for green peppers). For the salad supreme seasoning, I used one whole batch of DC Girly Girl's Tasty Salad Seasoning, which is also from this site. We thought this was very tasty! I think this would be good with cubed provolone or sharp cheddar cheese or maybe even cubed salami to make a complete meal for hot summer days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Excellent! I made this for a baby shower and it was a hit! I changed the veggies a bit - I used matchstick carrots, halved grape tomatoes, diced red bell pepper and broccoli. I also only used half the bottle of salad seasoning and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Its a good recipe, i used the tricolor pasta, wishbone zesty itallian dressing, grape tomatoes, sliced carrots, red onion, broccoli and cauliflower and i add southwest chicken breast strips in the pkg along with any variety of cubed cheese for a complete meal. You can make many different combinations with the many vegetables out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Been making this for years except with vermicelli broken into 1-2" pieces before cooking. Also don't use cuke's and only 1 each of the onion (chopped) and green bell pepper. I always marinate over night and add the chopped tomatoes right before serving. Everyone loves it and we call it Fantastic Pasta Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This pasta salad seems to be the quick "go-to" salad everyone has been using for years ... and with good reason ... its soooo easy to throw together, it makes a large serving, and with the fresh ingredients its really refreshing on a hot summer day. As others have stated the veggie choices are endless. Using grape tomatoes will saving you time and they also present nice when halved. I personally skip the onion and cucumber and stick with the tomato and green pepper. BUT to really kick up the flavor and turn on the Italian, I toss in quartered sliced pepperoni, sliced black olives, and sprinkle with parmesan cheese just before serving. Also, the pasta does tend to absorb some of the dressing if you are not serving right away (and you shouldn't ... it needs time to chill and blend), so I save a bit of the Italian dressing to add just before serving. I have also at times tossed in some cubed monterey cheese and that has always been well received. Whatever your choices you will be pleased with this pasta salad starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I love this pasta salad, it's so versatile. You can use any veggies you like or pasta for that matter. Sometimes I will add diced salami and cheese, just ask for an extra thick cut at the deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
We've been making this pasta salad for years. You can use whatever veggies or pasta you have on hand (we usually use linguine) and it's easy to scale to the amount of people you're serving. Just use the Italian dressing and Salad Supreme to taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was o.k. Makes a lot, but doesn't keep that well...I think due to the cucumbers. I might make it again for a family reunion but would need to make a few changes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karens59
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving 2007. It was great! Everyone loved it and I will make it for pot-luck lunches, etc. I added some broccoli and red pepper and cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karens59

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States