Deli Style Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was the first time I've made brisket, and it came out wonderful! The only tip for those of you whose meat dried out: check how it is looking after about 3-4 hours. I cut the meat up at this point, against the grain, and added it back to the pot. After another 2 hours or so simmering in the juice, it was tender, and the sauce was great on wide egg noodles. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILoveAardvarks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Sherman, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Nicki, The brisket was cooked in a crockpot for 9 hours, and prepared exactly what the recipe called for. I did however, have to made adjustments because I made it for 5 people only. It had a very good flavor but it was very tough. What did I do wrong? Or could it have been just the brisket? It was a 1.50 Lancaster Brand Brisket. Please let me know, because I would like to make it again soon. Thanks, Nancy P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
ALWAYS turns out wonderful! Had not tried cooking Brisket, although loved eating it, as always sounded complicated to make, until I found this recipe. Always tender and so simple and economical to make. Can't say enough about how easy and GREAT this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
used sweet baby ray's hot and spicy bbq sauce instead of ketchup and gave it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This is the perfect base for pot roast sandwiches. For better color and flavor, brown the brisket on the stovetop before placing in the crockpot. An hour before done, I added some sliced onions, cubed red potatoes and chunked carrots to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
The gravy to this was awesome! I took the advice of one reviewer and sliced the meat after 3/4 hours. I also added beef broth (just enough to cover the beef) at that point to make certain it would not dry out. this gravy is a keeper-I am going to try it on other meat such as roast beef and pot roast. I think this recipe should also be listed under "gravy"!FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Added Tony Cacheres (I live in Southern Louisiana, we have to have more spice)And extra salt and pepper to taste, and cornstarch to desired consistancy. They were right, gravy is to die for and excellent with hawaiian rolls or whatever bread you have handy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
When I was preparing this unusual recipe, my husband was watching..after I poured the ketchup on and rubbed it all over the meat, he looked horrified and exclaimed "If you don't feel like cooking, just say so!" I laughed and told him this was the recipe. Boy was this ever good and so simple. It had a great flavor and was a change from the usual crock pot roast. Thanks for a good laugh and a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkibonz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I took this recipe and sort of ran with it. I used 1 can of condensed tomato soup with two and a half cans of water instead of ketchup, 1 packet of onion soup dip mix, a few healthy shakes of worcestershire sauce, and garlic salt. I also added baby red potatoes and coarsely chopped carrots. At the end, I took out all of the meat and vegetables and added two tablespoons of cornstarch mixed with a dash of cold water to make some great gravy. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This was the first brisket I ever cooked (many years ago) & my husband LOVED it. It made great sandwiches for him the next day. Over the years I have made revisions. (I no longer cook it in the crock pot) But it is still a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gotpictures

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States