Deli Style Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
not what I was expecting. Best bit was the gravy. The meat was dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This was a little tough and tasted a lot like regular ol' pot roast. I was hoping for something with a little more flavor. This is pretty good though, at least as far as pot roasts go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Based on other reviews and my preference......I had a 4 1/2 lb brisket, browned it quickly, then made as recipe suggested except I added some hot sauce (for flavor) and I used (chicken) broth instead of water. This cooked and was ready in 9 hours. I shredded it in big chunks and made sandwiches out of it. Very good! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This needs a lot more flavor. I let it sit in the crockpot overnight so it was nice and tender but it was also very bland. Next time I will make a seperate BBQ sauce or gravy for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This is the perfect base for pot roast sandwiches. For better color and flavor, brown the brisket on the stovetop before placing in the crockpot. An hour before done, I added some sliced onions, cubed red potatoes and chunked carrots to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Added Tony Cacheres (I live in Southern Louisiana, we have to have more spice)And extra salt and pepper to taste, and cornstarch to desired consistancy. They were right, gravy is to die for and excellent with hawaiian rolls or whatever bread you have handy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Nicki, The brisket was cooked in a crockpot for 9 hours, and prepared exactly what the recipe called for. I did however, have to made adjustments because I made it for 5 people only. It had a very good flavor but it was very tough. What did I do wrong? Or could it have been just the brisket? It was a 1.50 Lancaster Brand Brisket. Please let me know, because I would like to make it again soon. Thanks, Nancy P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
This recipe was good.. it needed more of a kick for me. Next time I will try the spicy bbq sauce or add some hot sauce to it. My boyfriend ate it up though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This was a very simple recipe and it was my first attempt at making a brisket. I had the website change the serving size and I think that is why I think it came out just a bit dry. Next time I will get a cut of meat that hasn't been trimmed of the fat and I will add more water. I liked the taste and I'll use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I liked this recipe but, like other reviewers, I would add a bit more seasonings. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States