Deli Style Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
It lacked salt. Had to add it toward the end, otherwise a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBSEY95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Durham, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This recipe changed my mind about corned beef! For years no matter who made it on St Patty's, it was always too tough for me to enjoy. After using this recipe, I will make brisket more often. It leaves the meat with a taste that commands you to eat more. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This recipe is great basic. The trick is a tender and flavorful end-product is to use a piece of meat that has nice marbling and decent layer of fat. Slow cookers do no justice to "top-quality" cuts with little or no fat...they just leave them tough and dry. Great for rainboots, bad for brisket! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Pretty good, although there are some other recipes here that have better flavor. I followed some suggestions and used 1 full can of beef broth instead of water. I also sauted the onion with some fresh garlic before putting it in the crockpot. As always, I added some Cajun spice and a little red pepper flake to heat it up a little. I think a little wine, or some vinegar might help break the meat down a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
My husband likes things spicy so, I used Sweet Baby Ray's spicy bar-b-que sause instead of ketchup, which gave it a wonderful spicy flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I was disappointed with this recipe. The meat was very stringy. Even though I bought a first-cut brisket and followed the recipe, it was TOO chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
The recipe says "it will be the tenderest brisket you ever tasted". I discovered this is not the case. Mine resulted in a real jaw breaker. Perhaps 12 hours in the crock pot isn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Got mixed reviews on this one. Used 4 lb beef roast, smothered it with onions, followed remainder of recipe to a T....house smelled wonderful while it cooked, debated most of the day whether we'd eat it on deli buns with condiments of choice or make mashed potatoes and serve like roast. Kids and I had it on buns-hubby had it on Amish Bread (from this site-wonderful BM bread) covered in gravy. It needs more spice...maybe bay leaf while cooking or more garlic. Don't know if I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
As easy as it sounds and turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
ALWAYS turns out wonderful! Had not tried cooking Brisket, although loved eating it, as always sounded complicated to make, until I found this recipe. Always tender and so simple and economical to make. Can't say enough about how easy and GREAT this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States