Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
This recipe is FABULOUS! It's tastes like what they serve at Moe's Southwest Grill. I made it in the crockpot (I don't like to cook things in aluminum foil). I cooked it all night on low. In the morning I shredded it and vacuumed bagged it for freezing. When I want to make tacos, enchiladas, etc. I'll have my meat ready. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Perfect!Loved this recipe and the pork turns out perfectly for tortillas. We served with rice and tortillas. If you liked this one.. try CHARLEYS SLOW COOKER MEXICAN STYLE MEAT on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This had incredible flavor, and was so easy to make! I am a wimp when it comes to spicyness, so I reduced the chili powder to 1/8 cup, and used only 1 can of chiles. By the time I trimmed all the fat off the roast, I had only about 2 lbs. left(!), so I used only 1 tsp. salt, and included it in the rub (would do that again!). Other than those changes, I left the other seasonings the same. The 2nd time I made this, I realized I didn't have a packet of taco seasoning on hand, so I used "Taco Seasoning I" from this site (omitting the red pepper flakes), and used a pork tenderloin instead of pork shoulder (cooked it 3 1/2 hours). It was great! I served the pork with a rice and bean casserole, grilled vegetables, and corn tortillas. What a great dinner! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
It was very easy to make and the whole family loved how it taste. It even made great pork sandwichs the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
i have a question before i make this recipe. where and when do i add the green chilie's? am i missing the addition? is it in the rub?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
REALLY good! I omitted the chilies and added 1/2 the chili powder because I was worried about it being too spicy for my kids. Used a dutch oven instead of wrapping in foil and added 1/2 c. water and a sliced onion. Came out so moist and shredded easily. The kids and adults loved it! So easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I added some franks hot sauce to the rub. Great recipe, my tounge did a tripple flip on it's way out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Boy, is this good! The flavors really infused the meat! I didn't need to "tweak" it at all after it roasted. The only change I made was adding Tabasco to the rub. I know I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This is seriously the best roast pork recipe on the site!! I added BBQ sauce and onions to the left overs for BBQ pork sandwiches....SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Have made this 3x in 3 weeks -- it's the best pork/taco recipe I've ever tried. I cook in crock pot (hi /5-6hrs) -- it will be our Memorial weekend chow-fare! :) thanks for making my life easier... my family thinks I'm a GENIUS on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States