Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The roast smelled heavenly while cooking, but lacked the right seasoning. Perhaps a touch of sugar. The meat swam in grease. If I make bulk pork roast for tacos, I will season the meat with garlic salt, pepper, and bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Nix the salt and replace it with a packet of onion soup mix. I found that this has better flavor with cumin instead of oregano. One of the other reviewers suggested replacing one can of chilis with a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce - do it! The chili pepper may seem like a lot, but it works out just fine. I think I also added some garlic for more flavor. I took the advice of another reviewer by adding 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar and a chicken bouillon cube (this was combined with water in my slow cooker). Throwing everything into a slow cooker makes this a simple dish to put together. This made some REALLY incredible pork. This was excellent in a corn tortilla with fresh cilantro (lettuce does not belong on tacos!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
THIS recipe is in our weekly rotation now! We all love it, even the kids. I use whatever pork roast is cheaper that week and do the coating exactly how the recipe says. I freeze the leftovers, and reheat with a little taco sauce in a pan to add any juices that mightve gotten dried up in the freezer. its AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilliansmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olney, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Love, Love, Love this recipe! The only recipe I use now for carnitas! After making this several times, I do add a little more taco seasoning, more fresh garlic, and throw in fresh cilantro from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This recipe is a favorite in our house. It can get a bit salty, so when I remember I omit at least 1/2 teaspoon of the salt. Otherwise, LOVE this! I love to turn the leftovers into enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
My fiancee says these were the best pork tacos he's ever had. Although, I either use a slow cooker for smaller batches or a dutch oven on low for 6-8 hrs. I use bone in roast (who doesn't love a little more flavor) and leave the shredded meat in, turn up the heat to thicken the sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
These are the BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jntsunami
Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Great recipe! I made this in the crock pot and tweaked it a little. I added about half a beer, 1/4 C apple cider vinegar, about 2 or 3 TBLs honey, and after a few hours of cooking, added more Chili powder and Cumin to taste. Added a little more salt too and some lime. Cooked 7 hours and was perfect!! So happy I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I was really apprehensive about this for tacos but my family loved it! I used 1 can Rotel, 1 tsp each chili powder, oregano and taco seasoning, 1 tbsp minced garlic, at 3 hours the liquid had evaporated so I added 1/2 cup vegetable stock and turned off the oven until we needed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
i had high hopes. not what i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Gausmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States