Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
my husband made this on the crockpot... he cooked it on low for several hours and then turned down to keep warm for the rest of the day. We had it on soft taco shells with lettuce, avocado and pico de gallo, I took the rest for lunch the next day and put it on a salad... It was OUTFREAKINSTANDING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Pretty good.... I still prefer Diyeana's pork chile rojo better, but it was nice to try something different this time. Both Diyeana and Dee's recipes are similar. It's the cooking method (oven vs. slow cooker) that's the main difference - and I'm a sucker for a good 'ol crockpot. :) My hubby picked up a 4.5 lb. shoulder roast (the smallest cut available), but I did not increase any of the spice rub ingredients. I found that it took closer to 4 hours for my roast to cook thru (at the 3.5 hour mark it was a bit too tough to shred). NOTE: Instead of wrapping in aluminum foil, I placed my roast in my Le Crueuset Dutch oven. It cooked up beautifully! Served with soft corn tortillas, shredded red cabbage, pico de gallo, my hubs' homemade guac and Spanish rice on the side, this was a decent, no fuss meal. Thanks for sharing, RMARMOLEJO! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Can't wait to try this with a full roast - was cooking just for hubby tonight and had a huge boneless porkchop I had to use up. So I thought I'd give your recipe a try - it was simply smashing! Wrapped in foil and baked as directed, stopping at 2 1/2 hrs. Removed meat from foil, sliced and put meat & juice in small saute pan to await his arrival. He devoured - thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Delicious! Tastes like a restaurant taco! So easy and good! I also wrapped mine tightly in foil as others mentioned after putting rub all over meat and left it in my fridge overnight to marinade. I stuck it in the crock pot on low for about 7 hours with the foil still on and took it out and let it rest before shredding the meat. Be careful as the juice will come out of the foil before you take it out of the crock pot, I held mine with tongs and let the juice come out into the crock pot so I could just add the meat back in after shredding with the juice. Made guacamole and also caramelized some onions and red bell peppers in a pan to serve in the corn tortilla. Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a great dish for a crowd or to eat off of for several nights. The pork is not spicy, however--just flavorful. I have cooked it in foil in a roaster and it turned out beautifully, but I like the ease of preparing it in the crockpot (omit foil--cook on high for 5-6 hours). I cook it exactly as directed--delicious and crowd pleasing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Whole family loved this. I made it in the crock pot with about 1/2 cup water and a splash of vinegar. After several hours cooking, I shredded the meat in the crock pot and let it absorb the liquid. Great flavor!! Will make again I'm sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This recipe was right up my alley because I love green chiles. I used a pork tenderloin, and it came out moist, tender, and full of so much flavor. Plus, this recipe is so easy with very little work required. We ate these in soft tortillas, and it was a delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The roast smelled heavenly while cooking, but lacked the right seasoning. Perhaps a touch of sugar. The meat swam in grease. If I make bulk pork roast for tacos, I will season the meat with garlic salt, pepper, and bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Nix the salt and replace it with a packet of onion soup mix. I found that this has better flavor with cumin instead of oregano. One of the other reviewers suggested replacing one can of chilis with a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce - do it! The chili pepper may seem like a lot, but it works out just fine. I think I also added some garlic for more flavor. I took the advice of another reviewer by adding 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar and a chicken bouillon cube (this was combined with water in my slow cooker). Throwing everything into a slow cooker makes this a simple dish to put together. This made some REALLY incredible pork. This was excellent in a corn tortilla with fresh cilantro (lettuce does not belong on tacos!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
THIS recipe is in our weekly rotation now! We all love it, even the kids. I use whatever pork roast is cheaper that week and do the coating exactly how the recipe says. I freeze the leftovers, and reheat with a little taco sauce in a pan to add any juices that mightve gotten dried up in the freezer. its AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilliansmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olney, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States