Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
The best tacos I have ever had!! And super easy...I didn't have the chilies but it worked anyways. I will never eat tacos any other way again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
The first time I made this I didn't have any green chilies on hand so I thought I'd use the juice of 1 orange instead. The result was so delicious that we were really looking forward to the actual recipe. I just finished cooking it and it's rather disappointing compared. I'll keep making it with the orange juice instead! Also, I have to roast it about 1 hour longer and I add the juices from the pan to the shredded pork for added flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Oh. My. God. I've been looking for a recipe for pork roast for tacos, a la Carnitas, and this one worked great. I went with a nearly five pound pork shoulder roast that was on sale. Of course, I fiddled with the recipe like everybody else... I started by browning the roast in a Dutch oven, then I added 8-9 cloves of garlic, and covered the whole thing with a pile of chili powder, oregano, sage, chili flakes, pepper, salt, cumin, and a can salsa fresca and jalapenos. Stuck it in the oven for four hours, then shredded it a little and added a pile of chopped onion and more garlic cloves, along with some assorted hot sauce and a good splash of cider vinegar. Back into the oven for another hour or two. A couple of limes squeezed into it at the end and - Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I didn't follow the recipe because I had some pork that had already been cooked in the slow cooker for pulled pork sandwiches. I put all the ingredients for this recipe in a skillet and heated the meat through. This made some great tacos!!! I uesd soft flour tortillas for my tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is probably even better cooked as directed, but I like using my crockpot whenever I can and that is how I cooked this pork. Turned out great...we really liked the flavor and it did make terrific tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
so insanely good. tasted just like carnitas from chipotle. cooked this in the crockpot until the meat started falling apart (about an hour on high and 5 hours on low). I used old el paso green taco sauce instead of diced green chilis (all I had on hand), which made the "paste" easy to apply and stick to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very fork-tender and flavorful. I shredded the pork and wrapped it in soft flour tortillas with fresh pico, avocado slices, and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Phillips Thomas
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I had never had pork tacos but had a roast that I didn't know what to do with it so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. We loved this and it will make it onto our regular menu - however, I will be trying a few things to see about intensifying the flavor (ie. letting the pork sit with the rub in the fridge for several hours, cutting the roast into sections so the flavors distribute more evenly, and/or adding more seasoning). I omitted the oregano (didn't seem like it would fit with Mexican seasonings) and subbed cumin. I also used granulated garlic in place of fresh garlic. I cooked it in the crock pot all day on high and it was juicy and tender (for some reason my crock pots don't cook well on low). We shredded it and mixed the cooking juices in with the shredded meat (which did not make it saucy but helped to add flavor) and used it for burrito filling with lettuce, cheese, sour cream, and taco/green chili sauce. It is a very versatile filling. I look forward to freezing the leftovers for a quick-grab dinner when the baby comes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Delicious. I think my family would like a bit more spice, but made delicious tacos. We topped with sour cream, pico de gallo, lettuce & cheese. My husband added mango peach salsa to his. Next time I might add a bit of cayenne to kick up the heat. My 16 year old son actually put this together & we cooked it in the crockpot on low for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 91-100 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States