Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
so insanely good. tasted just like carnitas from chipotle. cooked this in the crockpot until the meat started falling apart (about an hour on high and 5 hours on low). I used old el paso green taco sauce instead of diced green chilis (all I had on hand), which made the "paste" easy to apply and stick to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very fork-tender and flavorful. I shredded the pork and wrapped it in soft flour tortillas with fresh pico, avocado slices, and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Phillips Thomas
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I had never had pork tacos but had a roast that I didn't know what to do with it so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. We loved this and it will make it onto our regular menu - however, I will be trying a few things to see about intensifying the flavor (ie. letting the pork sit with the rub in the fridge for several hours, cutting the roast into sections so the flavors distribute more evenly, and/or adding more seasoning). I omitted the oregano (didn't seem like it would fit with Mexican seasonings) and subbed cumin. I also used granulated garlic in place of fresh garlic. I cooked it in the crock pot all day on high and it was juicy and tender (for some reason my crock pots don't cook well on low). We shredded it and mixed the cooking juices in with the shredded meat (which did not make it saucy but helped to add flavor) and used it for burrito filling with lettuce, cheese, sour cream, and taco/green chili sauce. It is a very versatile filling. I look forward to freezing the leftovers for a quick-grab dinner when the baby comes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Delicious. I think my family would like a bit more spice, but made delicious tacos. We topped with sour cream, pico de gallo, lettuce & cheese. My husband added mango peach salsa to his. Next time I might add a bit of cayenne to kick up the heat. My 16 year old son actually put this together & we cooked it in the crockpot on low for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEENYBO
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
dont like the oregano much better without .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Did not care for this very much. The spices gave it a one-note taste. Removed as much of the interior meat as possible to make barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good! I found it took 5 hours in oven at 300 and an additional 2 hours on high in crockpot...next time I will probably just do in crockpot for 8-9 hours on low. A real hit! My hubby requested tacos for his birthday dinner and he LOVED it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterkookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Cooked in CrockPot, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Linwood, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Fantastic! I had never used pork in tacos before, but the family absolutely loved this! I added some creamy avocado & it was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States