Dee's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This was very good, but not spicy enough for my family's taste. Will probably add extra cayenne next time. The kids went back for heaping seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I really enjoyed the aroma of the spices in this recipe. I added hot chilli powder to this instead of cayenne. I like my rice spicy :) Adding ground meat to this would be a hit with the kids, I agree! I didn't add the ketchup in this, I used canned diced tomatoes instead. I served this with the lime juice too - it was perfect. I accompanied this with baked stuffed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
delicious! I killed the spiced that were listed, except I added more cayenne. I also used lots of peppers (asstd kinds) and lots of tomatoes and black beans. it's a meal in itself when you do it that way! I drizzled it with lime after I cooked it to make it lighter and fresher tasting. also, if the ketchup taste bothers you, use a little bit of tomato paste instead...I make this at least once every couple of weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
A family favorite, just the right spice. I did add 1 lb. browned burger, and used more rice than called for. It was devoured by all 5 kids! This is definitely a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
I wasn't very happy with how this one turned out. I think the tumeric gave it a bitter taste and the ketchup came on too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I thought that this recipe smelled good and looked good, but the tase was horrible. It had the nastiest aftertaste. BAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
I loved this version of Mexican rice. With all the spices, I thought it would be too spicy, but instead it was very tasty, not too spicy at all. The green onions were a welcome change from yellow onions and added to the overall flavor. It was easy to make and and all the ingredients blended well. The only thing I changed was using minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I will definitely make this one of my regular rice dishes. Thanks, Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
Loved it! I made some changes though: omitted the ketchup, and added 2 cups more rice. Fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
I didn't like the ketchup overtones of this. It seemed to have a sour taste. I will keep searching for a mexican rice recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I enjoyed the spices in this recipe very much, just smelling them when I was cooking was delightful. I left out the ketchup by mistake and didn't notice until after we had eaten, it was still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States