Dee's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Used this recipe with leftover rice (basmati, no less). Did not use ketchup but instead used canned diced tomatoes and included the juice. Did not use the corn or green pepper. Was very casual with measuring the spices and it worked really well. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Made 5/23/12: Wonderful!!!!! Could be a side dish for almost anything. Please make again. Didn't use any red pepper, cayenne, onions or gr pepper....had already made once to take to a family so I skipped some....NEXT time either put onion flakes in with spices and use green pepper or use can of mexi corn that has it in it. Did use chili powder in place of red pepper, but would try a little red next go round. Used 1 Can of corn loosely drained....1/2 C tomatoes and 2T ketchup. GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K Lightfoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palestine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
loved it! used sazon spice instead of the tumeric (didn't have tumeric) and a small can of tomato sauce in lieu of the ketchup. Added fresh garlic and chopped cilantro and it was awesome! thx for the post Sandy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Not bad. Next time I'll omit the green peppers. I thought this dish was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I made only one substitution, red peppers instead of green, because I had them on hand and omitted the corn, which I didn't have. I have to agree with Newcook, the turmeric and catsup overpowered the dish, masking the other wonderful flavors. That said, I really liked the the look of the dish and how easily it all came together. I will definitely try this again without turmeric and catsup. With the other spices and fresh tomatoes I think this could be a winner. Thanks, Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
the spices overpowered each other - ex: turmeric and ketchup... horrible taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good. Went well with tacos that we had for a birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Delicious! I made a healthier version with brown rice, extra veggies (mushrooms and spinach), and fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. I also omitted the ketchup as suggested by others and it was not missed. Also used red instead of green onion b/c it was what I had on hand and it was still fabulous. Served with simple grilled salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This dish was ok. I expected it to be alot spicier. I wouldn't make it again becaue it didn't WOW me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was a really good rice dish that even my non-rice eaters liked. I used chili powder instead of the red pepper, and used about 12 oz. of crushed tomatoes instead of the fresh tomatoes and ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States