Dee's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Really good simple recipe. I've never tasted a "milk cake" before- it really did have a sweet milk flavor to it. I liked the texture alot, similar to angel food cake but WAY easier prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I've made this many times now, very good. I did have one loaf that didn't turn out, and that was because I over beated it, and it sunk in after I took it out of the oven. Other than that 'one' mishap, this is quite fluffy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meiling206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Followed the recipe exact. Texture was exactly what I was looking for (perfect) but it was very "eggy" tasting and not very sweet. My daughter said it tasted like plain pancakes. I couldn't serve this (made it for strawberry shortcake) It went in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was a good cake, it was more like a pound cake than a sponge cake though. I made it for strawberry shortcake and it fared well for that purpose. I actually liked it better plain with just whipped cream on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made the mistake of making this cake once; now my husband won't shut up about it. It IS really good though—if you're like me and prefer desserts that aren't super-sweet, give this cake a go because day-um. Great hot and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
perfect rise, color & taste gloriously sweet !! i added more vanilla than the recipe says & it was delightful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
What an easy and quick cake! It was great with strawberry sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
So easy even I couldn't botch it up. Everyone loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States