Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
My first ever attempt to make homemade bread- and this was the absolute best! It was easy and tasted great! It made 4 loaves I froze some dough- two loafs and we are eating one instead of the bread we bought at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This bread was really good and quite simple to make! I accidently used all whole wheat flour and it was still very very good - maybe didn't rise as much as it should have because of this but still did rise quite a bit. I halved the recipe and made 2 full sized loaves and 4 mini loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
MMmmm... one of my favorite restaurant/brewing companies serves a free loaf of excellent grainy wheat bread with every meal, and I was looking for a recipe that would be similar to theirs. I made this yesterday, scaled down to 20 servings, and ended up with two absolutely perfect loaves. I added 2 tbsp wheat germ and topped it all off with King Arthur's Artisan Bread topping... other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and it is positively marvelous. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This bread is really good! I changed the servings to 20 as others have suggested and it yielded 1 regular sized loaf and 4 rolls. I used olive oil rather than vegetable oil. I kneaded the dough for 20 minutes and it rose very nicely on top of a warm stove. I think different combinations of seeds and nuts would work just as well too. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I love this recipe. It's a lot of work to make but well worth it for delicious and healthy homemade bread. We make this often and freeze extra loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This recipe is amazing, and easy too! I had never made bread before without a bread machine, and so was expecting it to not turn out so well; but it turned out wonderful! And it's very tasty! Thanks for sharing the recipe with us Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
amazing bread!!! i made the dough in the bread machine (half recipe) and baked it in the oven. you can add or substitute so many things...oats/wheat germ etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
WOW!! This bread is great! I just started making bread a few weeks ago and this one is easy and great tasting. I scaled the recipe down to 18 servings and as recommended by another reviewer, I used only whole wheat flour and added 1T of wheat gluten. Additionally I used organic coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil and only used egg whites instead of the whole egg. The resulting bread is soft, fluffy and tastes great. I plan on continuing to make this bread as my staple one instead of buying from the store. Thanks much Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is a pretty good bread recipe. I blended different flours together and subsituted rolled oats and barley for the nuts. I substitued hazelnut oil for vegetable oil for more flavor. It is a really flavorful and slightly sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Excellent!! Thanks Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States