Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This bread was really good and quite simple to make! I accidently used all whole wheat flour and it was still very very good - maybe didn't rise as much as it should have because of this but still did rise quite a bit. I halved the recipe and made 2 full sized loaves and 4 mini loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
MMmmm... one of my favorite restaurant/brewing companies serves a free loaf of excellent grainy wheat bread with every meal, and I was looking for a recipe that would be similar to theirs. I made this yesterday, scaled down to 20 servings, and ended up with two absolutely perfect loaves. I added 2 tbsp wheat germ and topped it all off with King Arthur's Artisan Bread topping... other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and it is positively marvelous. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This bread is really good! I changed the servings to 20 as others have suggested and it yielded 1 regular sized loaf and 4 rolls. I used olive oil rather than vegetable oil. I kneaded the dough for 20 minutes and it rose very nicely on top of a warm stove. I think different combinations of seeds and nuts would work just as well too. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I love this recipe. It's a lot of work to make but well worth it for delicious and healthy homemade bread. We make this often and freeze extra loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This recipe is amazing, and easy too! I had never made bread before without a bread machine, and so was expecting it to not turn out so well; but it turned out wonderful! And it's very tasty! Thanks for sharing the recipe with us Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
amazing bread!!! i made the dough in the bread machine (half recipe) and baked it in the oven. you can add or substitute so many things...oats/wheat germ etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
WOW!! This bread is great! I just started making bread a few weeks ago and this one is easy and great tasting. I scaled the recipe down to 18 servings and as recommended by another reviewer, I used only whole wheat flour and added 1T of wheat gluten. Additionally I used organic coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil and only used egg whites instead of the whole egg. The resulting bread is soft, fluffy and tastes great. I plan on continuing to make this bread as my staple one instead of buying from the store. Thanks much Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is a pretty good bread recipe. I blended different flours together and subsituted rolled oats and barley for the nuts. I substitued hazelnut oil for vegetable oil for more flavor. It is a really flavorful and slightly sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Excellent!! Thanks Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is the best bread I have made or eaten. I have given the recipe out to numerous people because once they taste the bread they want to make their own. Thanks for sharing Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States