Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This bread is wonderful, I make it all the time. The only change I make is flax seed for the wheat germ, but that's only because for some reason I'm having trouble finding it. This recipe has replaced the store bought bread we bought for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
i got a lot of compliments on this bread. i followed the recipe except i used oatmeal because i didn't have any sunflower seeds and i added a little more oatmeal, cracked wheat, and ground flax seed then the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Very nice. I like being able to find a recipe that has whole grains in it. I didn't have flax seed, just flaxseed meal, so I put that in instead. I also didn't have cracked wheat, so I subbed oats. Although I don't usually have a problem with breads baking within the recommended time in my oven, this bread needed another 10 minutes for it to be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Del Sisters
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Very good. The texture was really nice. I added 3T. gluten and 2t. dough enhancer I also used all wheat flour. It a=only make 4 loaves though?!? My family loved it, we'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Del Sisters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
It was soft but bland. Mine didn't look as delicious as the photo. Changes: maple syrup instead of molasses, oatmeal, burgul, sesame seeds instead of flax seed, cracked wheat, sunflower seeds. Added 1 tbsp flaxseed meal. Do NOT coat the pan with cornmeal, it tastes gross. Next time will try reviewer suggestion: using NO white flour, using instant yeast, adding 2 tbsp each of dough enhancer, lecithin, and vital wheat gluten. I will try not doing the rising, just mixing all at once, kneading, put in loaf pans to rise, then put in oven and bake even while oven is preheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I have very little experience with yeast breads and half expected this not to come out on my first try, but it did come out beautifully. It's time-consuming but not especially difficult to make. I enjoyed making it and my husband and I are enjoying eating it. It's delicious and nice to bake something I can eat 100% guilt-free for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is the BEST bread recipe! I make it at least twice a week (6 kids.) The flavor is sensational--my very favorite. A few changes to make it easier, more nutritious, and fluffier. I use 100% whole wheat flour (no white flour) I use instant yeast and I do add 2 tbsp each of dough enhancer, lecithin, and vital wheat gluten. This bread is so light, fluffy, and delicious everybody just LOVES it. I don't do all the separate rising stages anymore, too much work, too much time, and too much mess. I just throw all the ingredients in at once, mix it up, knead it, put it in the loaf pans, (if you coat your hands with crisco this is much cleaner and easier) put them in the oven with the oven light on to rise, then when they are risen enough turn the oven on and bake them. It doesn't hurt them at all to be in the oven while it preheats. The loaves come out perfect: light, fluffy, and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Highland, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
My most successful bread-making experience yet . . . deliciously crispy crust but soft and chewy on the inside. I took some to my class and now everyone loves me. I added 2 T. wheat germ along with the other grains, substituting cooked whole wheat and oats for cracked wheat--it worked well. During kneading, the dough was quite sticky so I kept adding flour (up to 1-1/2 cups more than called for)--not sure if that was the right thing to do, but the bread still came out wonderfully! Thanks for all your work on this great recipe. Definitely worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This came out too dry for my tastes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States