Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
WOW!!! AMAZING!!! I have never made a whole wheat bread that turned out this light & fluffy! It is literally so fluffy it's like store bought; hard to spread peanut butter on it without tearing it...even hard to slice it without squishing it! I don't want those to sound like bad things--this bread turned out PERFECT!!! I wanted to make it exactly as instructed in the recipe despite my tendency to change things...I wanted to know how it was SUPPOSED to turn out before changing it. I've experimented with a lot of bread recipes-I make bread regularly & barely ever buy at the store anymore. This one is what I've been looking for! As one reviewer stated, I believe that it is the PROCESS in this recipe that makes a difference. Many of my WW recipes are half bread flour/half WW because despite my desire to use all WW I cannot get a light enough loaf that my family will eat. The proportion of WW to bread (white) flour in this recipe is already a lot more that what I'm used to, & it is sooo fluffy! I am definitely going to use all WW next time & see how it turns out. Even though the processes make this recipe a little longer to make, it is not more difficult, & I think it is worth it! The only changes I did make were to add a dry 9 grain cereal (whole grains) instead of cracked wheat b/c I didn't have the cracked wheat, & I added 2 Tbsp. of vital wheat gluten. MARVELOUS! I did leave the bread in the oven when I turned it on to preheat-didn't hurt it. It made 5 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueroni7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe, thanks! Like another reviewer I used apple cider vinegar in place of the lemon juice, turned out great. Also, thanks to the Mom of 6 who mentioned she puts her dough in the oven for raising and leaves it in there while the oven preheats as well. I tried both, preheating the oven before sticking it in to bake & with it in during preheat. The one that stayed in the oven while preheating was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very heavy, was a meal per slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Thank you Dee for this recipe!!!! Very good bread. I left out the lemon juice-never had that in a bread recipe before and I didn't see the purpose...I'm curious if anyone knows. I halved the recipe and made three nice loaves. It's a dense loaf, filling. I kept the molasses at 1/4 cup. I added millet, oatmeal, sesame seeds and flax. I didn't have the cracked wheat or sunflower seeds. As others have said, this is a versatile bread. You can mix up the seed and nuts as you like. I shaped my loaves and baked them on preheated clay tiles. The dough held it's shape nicely as it rose in the oven. I will be using this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZABETHRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Love this! Thanks. I made half the recipe. Didn't have cracked wheat so substituted 1/2 C from the whole wheat flour for multi grain bread flour instead. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I make this bread all the time. I use 100% whole wheat flour and add a few more grains. It is a pretty flexible recipe, and always tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tisdale, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I've been making bread for about 6 months now with a very basic whole wheat recipe. I wanted more of a multi-grain bread and Dee's looked impressive, yet simple. I used 8 cups (instead of 7) of WW flour only because my daughter ground up too much, so I reduced white flour to 3 cups (instead of 4). I didn't have cracked wheat so I used oats instead. I also ground up the flax seed and used olive oil as others suggested. I put into 3 (9x5) loaf pans. It rose beautifully and tasted awesome the first time. I also skipped all the rests. Thank you so much, Dee. I have 4 girls who love to eat bread and making 3 loaves at once is wonderful and saves this mom some time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is what I've been looking for! Absolutely wonderful in taste, ease of preparation and in handling/working with the dough. I used oatmeal instead of cracked wheat, but kept everything else the same. I can't say enough good things about this recipe! This will surely be placed in my list of top 5 bread recipes. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Delicious! Used oat bran hot cereal instead of the cracked wheat. Skipped all the 20 minute rests and step 5 totally. Bread turned out awesome and it saved some time not doing these extra steps. Oh, and I did add about 1T whole wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
loved it! i used 100% whole wheat flour (i don't see a point in making it less healthy than it could be). i didn't have sunflower seeds but added some unprocessed wheat bran and oatmeal. i tripled the honey, added some wheat gluten to help it rise and stay fresh longer, and added a little extra yeast since i was working with all whole wheat. and, i just threw the ingredients into my bread machine on the dough cycle. when it finished, i let it rise in a slightly warm oven for an hour, then turned on the oven. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States