Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Love this! Thanks. I made half the recipe. Didn't have cracked wheat so substituted 1/2 C from the whole wheat flour for multi grain bread flour instead. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I make this bread all the time. I use 100% whole wheat flour and add a few more grains. It is a pretty flexible recipe, and always tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tisdale, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I've been making bread for about 6 months now with a very basic whole wheat recipe. I wanted more of a multi-grain bread and Dee's looked impressive, yet simple. I used 8 cups (instead of 7) of WW flour only because my daughter ground up too much, so I reduced white flour to 3 cups (instead of 4). I didn't have cracked wheat so I used oats instead. I also ground up the flax seed and used olive oil as others suggested. I put into 3 (9x5) loaf pans. It rose beautifully and tasted awesome the first time. I also skipped all the rests. Thank you so much, Dee. I have 4 girls who love to eat bread and making 3 loaves at once is wonderful and saves this mom some time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is what I've been looking for! Absolutely wonderful in taste, ease of preparation and in handling/working with the dough. I used oatmeal instead of cracked wheat, but kept everything else the same. I can't say enough good things about this recipe! This will surely be placed in my list of top 5 bread recipes. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Delicious! Used oat bran hot cereal instead of the cracked wheat. Skipped all the 20 minute rests and step 5 totally. Bread turned out awesome and it saved some time not doing these extra steps. Oh, and I did add about 1T whole wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
loved it! i used 100% whole wheat flour (i don't see a point in making it less healthy than it could be). i didn't have sunflower seeds but added some unprocessed wheat bran and oatmeal. i tripled the honey, added some wheat gluten to help it rise and stay fresh longer, and added a little extra yeast since i was working with all whole wheat. and, i just threw the ingredients into my bread machine on the dough cycle. when it finished, i let it rise in a slightly warm oven for an hour, then turned on the oven. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I was so hopeful after reading all the rave reviews, but mine ended up really dense and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I make this bread often. It always turns out and even the kids will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARASAGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is awesome bread. I do cut the recipe in half and make two large loaves (instead of 3 small). With a few changes, this is our standard bread that I make once a week and we use it for everything from toast to sandwiches. I use agave juice in place of the sugar and I use a 9-grain mix from my grocery store's bulk bins in place of the cracked wheat. I replace half the water with milk. It is really delicious- nice and soft, good texture, and the taste is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RRSPANGLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Overall I like this recipe a lot and use it often. I occasionally have trouble with the bread falling when it first begins to bake. Haven't figured out what I'm doing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States