Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes using ingredients I had on hand. I used Spelt flour instead of wheat flour, I used oatmeal and grounded it instead of cracked wheat and organic hard wheat instead of bread flour. I did have to add extra flour. I also had to divide the recipe in half. I made the full recipe just in 2 bowls and used my loaf pans yielding 4 loaves, the extra flour then equaled 1 cu in each bowl. It tasted great and I have made twice now. Just a caution using the spelt your dough will be moister you will have to kneed in flour to so it isn't so sticky. Also roll the dough in flour before putting in your bowl to rise. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Finally a bread that's not only healthy but also tastes great! I used a tablespoon of sesame seeds instead of cracked wheat. Adjusted the recipe to 20 servings and set bread machine to 1.5 lb loaf. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
THE best bread I've ever made hands down! This will be the bread I always make in the future. Thank you so much for posting! It made 6 loaves if you're wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natacha Pellerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I am so glad to have found this recipe! We love whole wheat bread and love the easiness of this recipe. This same loaf at our local health food store costs $3.99, and $4.50, for the cranberry/walnut version. I made this recipe as is at first and all of my friends now ask for a loaf every week. Now the only changes I make are to add 1/2 cup millet and use only 2 cups white flour and 2 more cups whole wheat flour. I use the Golden 86 wheat and grind it myself. I also use the basic bread recipe and add dried cranberries and instead of the seeds I use all walnuts for a breakfast bread or a bread to use with chicken or turkey sandwiches. A tip for those of you who need to make a lot of bread all at once is to use juice cans(pineapple/tomato etc.) instead of bread pans. I can fit twelve of those in my regular size oven. Yes, the bread is round, but it is just as tasty! Thank you Dee Dee, for making our home smell wonderful every week and giving my family a healthy and less expensive way to enjoy fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is an easy yet healthy bread. Following the suggestion of Callie and since I did not have cracked wheat, I used seasame seeds and oatmeal with the flax. With no bread machine, followed the suggestions of Sarah Jo by proofing with the warm water (will use half milk next time) and sugar before adding the wet and then dry ingredients and mixing with the paddle attachment of my KitchenAid. Then kneaded with the dough hook. Baked at 350 instead of 375, which was perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This really is great bread. I half this recipe and make it weekly and we all really enjoy it. It is simple to make as I omit a few steps - I let my Kitchen Aid mixer to do most the work. I dissolve the sugar in 1/2 cup warm water and let the yeast rise in it for 10 min. In the mixer I add the remaining ingredients (3 cups of flour initially)mix it all up with the blending hook, add the yeast, it's been 10 min. by now, change the hook to the dough hook, add the remaining 2.5 cups of flour and walk away for 10 min. while the mixer kneads the dough. This makes 2 nice loaves of bread. I let it rise in the oven with light on for 2 - 3 hours then turn the oven on to 350 and let it bake for 25. It always turns out great and with all the ommited steps, it seriously takes 20 min. (don't tell my husband, he thinks it's a major process : ) ) **also, I leave out the sunflower seeds only because it's not something we generally have on hand**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
So good! I followed Sarah Jo's steps and did it all in one bowl in the KitchenAid using half the recipe and made two loaves. For the "extras" I use the cracked wheat, flax meal, oat bran plus 1/4 cup soy flour. The dough was still pretty wet but manageable and I like dough moister so left it that way. It doubled perfectly in 60 minutes, formed in two loaf pans, rested 20 minutes, then baked at 350 for 25 minutes. It rose a ton and one loaf split open (lack of loaf forming technique probably) but settled down during the cooling time. This bread has perfect texture & crumb plus great flavor and I like the little crunch the cracked wheat gives. I imagine the seeds would be even better but I have a lot of other stuff that needs to be used up for now. This one is my new staple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I did cut this recipe in half. I used my Kitchen Aid from beginning to end instead of making this bread by hand. I proofed my yeast with the ALL of thw warm water and sugar in my mixer bowl. After ten minutes, I added the honey, molasses, melted butter (instead of vegetable oil, I'm out until payday), eggs and lemon juice then all the dry ingredients, beating well with the paddle attachment with each cup of dry, as the recipe stated. I had to add just a touch more of whole wheat flour, just to get it to form into a solid ball. I kneaded with my bread hook for about five minutes or so, then set in a large greased bowl covered with saran wrap and a towel on a warm heating pad to rise for an hour. After it had doubled, I pounded it down and shaped into a loaf and set it to rise in two loaf pans for a half hour or so. I baked it at 350* for about a half hour, maybe a little more. One of the best breads my family has ever had--even my husband raved about it and he's not much for "healthy" bread. My kids and I just loved it. EXCELLENT as breakfast toast. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This may be one of my favs! To make healthier I used all whole wheat flour, substituted coconut oil for vegetable oil, and used Agave in place of sugar. Made a batch scaled to 18 in my bread machine on light crust & basic wheat setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States