Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I am new to bread-making and this is the first time that I've had success with a yeast wheat bread! I substituted bulgar for the cracked wheat because I couldn't find it in the store. I scaled the recipe back to 40 servings and made one loaf by hand and the other in my bread machine. Both turned out lovely soft loaves with excellent chewy crusts. This is now my go-to bread recipe as it is perfect for breakfast toast and sandwiches. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe. I ground the flax and sunflower seeds since one of my children doesn't like "bits". I also used the food processer to knead. Mine is fairly small so I had to divide the dough into three parts. Each one got 30 seconds in the processor and a bit of extra flour to stop the sticking to the sides of the drum. I cooked half the batch as rolls (cut time to 20 minutes) and the rest as loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes using ingredients I had on hand. I used Spelt flour instead of wheat flour, I used oatmeal and grounded it instead of cracked wheat and organic hard wheat instead of bread flour. I did have to add extra flour. I also had to divide the recipe in half. I made the full recipe just in 2 bowls and used my loaf pans yielding 4 loaves, the extra flour then equaled 1 cu in each bowl. It tasted great and I have made twice now. Just a caution using the spelt your dough will be moister you will have to kneed in flour to so it isn't so sticky. Also roll the dough in flour before putting in your bowl to rise. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Finally a bread that's not only healthy but also tastes great! I used a tablespoon of sesame seeds instead of cracked wheat. Adjusted the recipe to 20 servings and set bread machine to 1.5 lb loaf. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
THE best bread I've ever made hands down! This will be the bread I always make in the future. Thank you so much for posting! It made 6 loaves if you're wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natacha Pellerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I am so glad to have found this recipe! We love whole wheat bread and love the easiness of this recipe. This same loaf at our local health food store costs $3.99, and $4.50, for the cranberry/walnut version. I made this recipe as is at first and all of my friends now ask for a loaf every week. Now the only changes I make are to add 1/2 cup millet and use only 2 cups white flour and 2 more cups whole wheat flour. I use the Golden 86 wheat and grind it myself. I also use the basic bread recipe and add dried cranberries and instead of the seeds I use all walnuts for a breakfast bread or a bread to use with chicken or turkey sandwiches. A tip for those of you who need to make a lot of bread all at once is to use juice cans(pineapple/tomato etc.) instead of bread pans. I can fit twelve of those in my regular size oven. Yes, the bread is round, but it is just as tasty! Thank you Dee Dee, for making our home smell wonderful every week and giving my family a healthy and less expensive way to enjoy fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is an easy yet healthy bread. Following the suggestion of Callie and since I did not have cracked wheat, I used seasame seeds and oatmeal with the flax. With no bread machine, followed the suggestions of Sarah Jo by proofing with the warm water (will use half milk next time) and sugar before adding the wet and then dry ingredients and mixing with the paddle attachment of my KitchenAid. Then kneaded with the dough hook. Baked at 350 instead of 375, which was perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This really is great bread. I half this recipe and make it weekly and we all really enjoy it. It is simple to make as I omit a few steps - I let my Kitchen Aid mixer to do most the work. I dissolve the sugar in 1/2 cup warm water and let the yeast rise in it for 10 min. In the mixer I add the remaining ingredients (3 cups of flour initially)mix it all up with the blending hook, add the yeast, it's been 10 min. by now, change the hook to the dough hook, add the remaining 2.5 cups of flour and walk away for 10 min. while the mixer kneads the dough. This makes 2 nice loaves of bread. I let it rise in the oven with light on for 2 - 3 hours then turn the oven on to 350 and let it bake for 25. It always turns out great and with all the ommited steps, it seriously takes 20 min. (don't tell my husband, he thinks it's a major process : ) ) **also, I leave out the sunflower seeds only because it's not something we generally have on hand**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
So good! I followed Sarah Jo's steps and did it all in one bowl in the KitchenAid using half the recipe and made two loaves. For the "extras" I use the cracked wheat, flax meal, oat bran plus 1/4 cup soy flour. The dough was still pretty wet but manageable and I like dough moister so left it that way. It doubled perfectly in 60 minutes, formed in two loaf pans, rested 20 minutes, then baked at 350 for 25 minutes. It rose a ton and one loaf split open (lack of loaf forming technique probably) but settled down during the cooling time. This bread has perfect texture & crumb plus great flavor and I like the little crunch the cracked wheat gives. I imagine the seeds would be even better but I have a lot of other stuff that needs to be used up for now. This one is my new staple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States